Home » Reviews » Alcatel 1X Smartphone Review & Giveaway

Alcatel 1X Smartphone Review & Giveaway

Keeping in touch with friends and family has never been easier than it is now. We have social media and smartphones that keep us connected better than ever before.

Technology often gets a bad rap but there are so many benefits to having it. Children can check in with a simple text message and parents have peace of mind. In addition to teens and parents, travellers, grandparents and many more are able to stay in touch with loved ones as a result.

Alcatel 1X smartphone review

Alcatel 1X Review – Android Go

Not everyone wants the latest and greatest in mobiles and would prefer budget friendly smartphones instead. Depending on your needs, there are some great cheap alternatives. One of which is the Alcatel 1X.

The Alcatel 1X runs the new Android Go operating system (also known as Android Oreo), which means the apps are lighter, less clunky and allows for smoother operation on entry-level smartphones. This also includes Google Play Protect, it’s good to know that your device is secure.

Telstra Alcatel 1X review | taking photos

Alcatel 1X key features include:

  • Easy to use
  • Screen: 5.34”, 18:9 ratio
  • Battery: 2,460 mAh – 8 hours of talk time and up to 240 hours of standby time
  • Rear Camera: 8 megapixel with flash
  • Front Camera: 5 megapixel with flash
  • Social ready camera features: create panoramas, time lapse, grid of photos and other cool features such as capturing a light trail
  • Lightweight: 151g
  • Colour: Grey Suede
  • Memory Size: 16GB
  • MicroSD card slot for more storage

Alcatel 1X lifestyle

The Alcatel 1X Android smartphone is a great starter option or if you want all the essentials without the costly price tag. It is built well and feels strong, particularly given how lightweight the phone is. It is important to note that the Alcatel 1X is locked to the Telstra Network.

Where to buy: RRP $129 available at Telstra



All Mum Said - Win Australian giveaways and free competitions

Prize includes: 1x Alcatel 1X smartphone. RRP $129

Alcatel 1X smartphone giveaway
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Terms & Conditions: 
1. Australian residents only.
2. Judges decisions are final.
3. The Promoter will do its best to contact the winner/s. If a winner does not accept their prize within 72 hours of being chosen, the Promoter will select the next best Eligible Entry/Entries.
4. This is a game of skill. Chance plays no part!
Therefore no extra points are given for sharing however it is good karma!!
5. All Mum Said is not responsible for delivery of prize.
6. If prize is unavailable, you will receive another product of equal value.
7. Prizes are not transferable and not redeemable for cash.
8. All entries will be signed up to the All Mum Said newsletter list. If you do not wish to sign up for our newsletter please advise us via email.
NOT endorsed by or have anything to do with Facebook.


If you want to enter more giveaways click here.



All Mum Said

Ok bloggers, now it is time for you to link up your blog posts with Mummy Mondays!

Please read the linky guidelines –

  • Leave a comment below showing your host some love AND comment on at least TWO other posts!
  • Link up ONE of your favourite blog posts for the last week and don’t forget to share the comment love on at least a few other blogs that have linked up.
  • Your post doesn’t have to be parenting related, pretty much any post goes.
  • Please add the Mummy Mondays button to your post/blog to put the word out there about the linky party… the more the merrier.


AMS was gifted this for the purpose of this review.
All opinions are my own.

All Mum Said
Get Social

All Mum Said

Connecting mums with real support, articles, giveaways, helpful advice & parenting tips.
All Mum Said
Get Social
SHARE THIS ARTICLE

47 Comments

  1. Scott Brunskill
    16/12/2018 / 9:59 pm

    The camera….these days you want good pics, first time, every time….smartphones have that capability….I also like the ergonomics of them….slim, easy handling

  2. Veronica Christensen
    16/12/2018 / 11:07 pm

    The most important is to be able to stay in touch with loved ones especially teenagers when they are out and about with there friends

  3. Gwendolyn Jordan
    17/12/2018 / 4:13 am

    I like that it’s easy to use, some phones are too hard to use for older people.

  4. 17/12/2018 / 6:21 am

    Good camera – that’s what I use the most these days – then ease of use. Not constant iOS updates that change everything!

  5. 17/12/2018 / 8:13 am

    Such a good looking phone and keeping things clear and simple. Have a great Christmas holidays when you get time off and sending all good wishes to you and yours. Denyse x

  6. Deanna
    17/12/2018 / 10:57 am

    The camera features, it is great to have a compact camera to capture all those special moments.

  7. Kimba Morgan
    17/12/2018 / 11:51 am

    You had me at battery, when your a teenager having fun with friends, your not thinking (I better charge my phone!) with 240 hours of standby time, my daughter won’t need too!

  8. 17/12/2018 / 12:50 pm

    I agree with the camera, I take sooooo many photos on my phone that having a decent camera is so important to me.

  9. 17/12/2018 / 2:02 pm

    Wow, I really need this! My phone is almost antique. What an awesome prize 🙂

  10. Israela
    17/12/2018 / 3:02 pm

    Most important feature on a mobile device would have to be storage space. With everybody using their phones as personal cameras these days we need space to store all the memories.

  11. Jane Whelan
    17/12/2018 / 5:39 pm

    I like the 240 hours of standby time together with 8 hours talking time will make for loads of phone calls on a charge. I also love it has 16 GB of storage so Mum can add a few apps and hopefully won’t keep getting the You don’t have enough storage message all the time.

  12. Anne C
    17/12/2018 / 9:15 pm

    A great phone at such a reasonable price!

  13. Michelle fay
    18/12/2018 / 6:57 am

    I love the idea of easy access to my apps and a longer battery life but mostly I love the many options with camera, this phone definitely has everything we are looking for in a mobile

  14. Jade O
    18/12/2018 / 2:10 pm

    A high quality camera to capture the moments and a long lasting battery (s you can take those photos!)

  15. Tess Borg
    18/12/2018 / 11:39 pm

    For me a smart phone has to have an excellent camera. Ain’t nobody got time to add a filter and special effects when all you need is a good clear pic!

  16. Neva Beaumont
    20/12/2018 / 12:46 am

    With young kids in tow, the most important smartphone features for me are that it can be child-proofed in any way that you need, that it can be easily operated with one hand (because your other hand is usually dealing with some type of kid crisis) and that it takes a great photo in an instant (because our kids grow up so quickly and we need to catch the important moments when they happen)!

  17. sharyn
    20/12/2018 / 7:39 am

    camera – as by not owning any smart phone i have missed numerous memories of my children when out and about 🙁 so a good camera is really a must as that is the whole point of a phone right 🙂

  18. LINDAC
    21/12/2018 / 2:19 pm

    Definitely having the ability to add through an MicroSD card slot extra storage

  19. 24/12/2018 / 7:47 am

    The most important feature for me in a smartphone (especially one for the kids!) is all about the apps (because that’s all they care about!!!) I like that this phone has less bulky apps as that seems to take up the most space and makes everything else run slower on the phones they currently have. Who wants a glitchy experience playing Minecraft pocket edition everywhere they go (and who wants to be the poor parent having to listen to their complaints while trapped in a waiting room with them?!)

  20. Marie White
    27/12/2018 / 7:29 pm

    Great for me to keep tabs on my son when he is out and about. I don’t need to worry as much knowing that the phone has a great battery too.

  21. Kirsty
    29/12/2018 / 9:44 am

    It’s vital that a mobile phone is easy to use, especially as I’d love to win this for use in the nursing home I work in. We are starting a community access program where volunteers will lead walking groups, outings and lots of fun stuff outside of the facility. Having a trusty mobile phone that all volunteers can use in an emergency and to communicate back and forth with staff is key to the program. It’s exciting stuff!

  22. Sarah Graham
    29/12/2018 / 4:31 pm

    A good battery. In this day and age we use our phones for everything so not going flat quickly is really important

  23. Kylie B
    30/12/2018 / 11:28 am

    A good camera is a must to snap pics of the kids wherever we may be.

  24. Julie r
    30/12/2018 / 11:34 am

    It should definitely have a good camera for many things you use a smart phone for and this one sounds pretty good

  25. Ryan H
    30/12/2018 / 11:42 am

    Battery Life. Seeing how much it gets used, there’s no point having a phone that needs recharging every 5 minutes.

  26. Jo taylor
    30/12/2018 / 11:43 am

    Camera ,most important to me it captures lifes important events and milestones.. It captures memorys I can always look back on And remember lifes moments

  27. Debbie Dye
    30/12/2018 / 11:49 am

    Most important to me is being able to keep in touch with my 12yr old daughter who starts high school soon. This Alcatel would be her first phone and I love that it’s simple and easy to use & has all the fearures neded for a starter phone 😊

  28. christine morris
    30/12/2018 / 11:54 am

    . It is built well and feels strong, particularly given how lightweight the phone is.

  29. Gabriella H
    30/12/2018 / 11:58 am

    For me its the screensize as my eyesight is far from perfect so I can’t use the small phones with tiny screens.

  30. Charlotte B
    30/12/2018 / 11:59 am

    It’s camera, given how good they are these days it means you don’t have to carry a camera around with you. Having a phone with a great camera means I can take pictures of my kids and send them to the family to enjoy.

  31. Jo Cardamone
    30/12/2018 / 12:27 pm

    This would help me keep tabs on my Ma so that if she gets lost I can help her because she cant read English properly

  32. Natalie Murnane
    30/12/2018 / 12:51 pm

    I think the most important bit is personalization. My $9 phone has no ability to change things. The ring irritates me, the screen is impossible, it won’t even let me turn the volume up high enough and it keeps deleting my screen picture. I’d love a friendly one that I liked looking at.

  33. Mandy Graham
    30/12/2018 / 12:58 pm

    My son starts high school in the new year and I’d love this phone for him. It has it all he needs.

  34. Nicole
    30/12/2018 / 1:05 pm

    We really need a phone for our daughter who will be starting high school this year.

  35. Nicole Williams
    30/12/2018 / 1:08 pm

    As this would be for my son the fact its lightweight means less for me to carry in my handbag. Mum always has to carry his things.

  36. Jody Smith
    30/12/2018 / 1:42 pm

    Crystal clear camera to capture my growing toddlers.

  37. Deanna Johnson
    30/12/2018 / 2:15 pm

    The Alcatel smartphone has so many wonderful features,
    it’s hard to narrow it down to one.
    But the most important and useful to me would be the camera capabilities,
    snapping panoramas, exploring time lapse and capturing light trails seems like so much fun.

  38. Mary Phillip
    30/12/2018 / 2:47 pm

    The most important feature for me is the Battery life, my current phone needs to be charged up at least twice a day and I kept forgetting to charge it up and end up with a dead phone when I really needs it.

  39. Adrienne Harries
    30/12/2018 / 3:14 pm

    Love the Smartphone for easy communication
    Fabulous camera to capture the moments of family celebration
    Favourite feature of all is ability
    To share screen time with my family

  40. Larissa
    30/12/2018 / 4:11 pm

    Any new phone is a good new phone and the colour is so amazing.

  41. Lesley Olariu
    30/12/2018 / 7:55 pm

    Getting sick and tired of overpriced and over complicated…. here’s cheers to simple and reliable:-)

  42. Mary Gunawan
    30/12/2018 / 8:36 pm

    I love how I’m able to take, edit, amazing photo’s with ease.

  43. Mandy Gebhard
    30/12/2018 / 10:02 pm

    FACETIME….this is a great feature when calling your kids and making sure they are where they’re supposed to be!

  44. Cassie Carrafa
    31/12/2018 / 12:01 am

    Simple yet very functional and not overpriced!

  45. Natalie Davidson
    31/12/2018 / 12:57 am

    Love the size of the display screen on this device.
    Great phone to keep in touch with loved ones and it looks very nice.

  46. Bee Bowdlert
    31/12/2018 / 10:30 am

    The most important feature of the Alcatel 1X Android smartphone is that it’s easy to use. Keeping it simple is always going to win for me because I’m not to proud to say that I’m technology challenged!

  47. Jocelyn R
    31/12/2018 / 6:44 pm

    The most important feature of new smartphone is a great battery life. There is no point having fantastic features if the battery runs out while you are trying to use it! My kids have really busy days, school, after school sport/music and catching up with friends. I don’t want the battery running out when my kids need to contact me!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.