Home » Giveaways » Cats Undercover Book Review + Giveaway

Cats Undercover Book Review + Giveaway

One of my absolute favourite things to see is kids enjoying books.

My eldest son is a huge bookworm and constantly has his head in a book. His literacy interests vary from Harry Potter types to Paul Jennings comedy with a few zombie varieties thrown in for good measure. Whereas my 8 year old really only has an interest in the Guinness World Records style books. I love that they enjoy different genres because it means they are constantly discovering new information and settings.

Ged Gillmore Cats Undercover book review

Books that suck you in

Don’t you just love it when you find a book, author or series that your kids just cannot put down? I do. This is currently books written by Ged Gillmore. His first book, Cats On The Run, was the highest selling self-published kids’ book in Australia last year and I have a good feeling that his new book Cats Undercover will follow in its footsteps.

Cats Undercover

If you are looking for a book that will keep your 7-12 year old enthralled and laughing constantly, than Cats Undercover should be next on their reading list.

Ged really knows how to tap into the minds of boys and make a story about three cats living on an abandoned farm hilarious. Cats Undercover is jammed packed full of action, cheeky antics and all that gross stuff boys seem to love from cover to cover. This book has been described as bonkers and silly, and I think with the addition of fun that sums it up perfectly.

The cats

Like any good book, the characters make the story. So here is a little run down on each of the three main cats.
Tuck  is a little intellectually challenged but you have to give him points for confidence. Ginger has been living in the streets for a lot longer than the other two so she’s more experienced and isn’t shy about it. And last but not least, Tuck’s girlfriend Minnie, let’s just say she isn’t the sweetest.

Ged Gillmore Cats Undercover book review

Life is great, or is it?

The three cats were living happily on the abandoned farm only for their world to be turned upside when two evil pongs, aka humans, showed up.

Cats Undercover will take your kids on a rollercoaster of ride of undercover catbots, skateboarding skunk punks and it wouldn’t be complete without facing savage sewer rats and puddles of poodle piddle. But the fun doesn’t end there.

They struggle, they fight to survive the human’s deadly skinning machine and even find time to audition on Kitten’s Got Talent! The energy and adventure never stops.

Ged Gillmore Cats Undercover book review

Who is Ged Gillmore?

Originally from the UK, Ged Gillmore is terrified one day someone will make him go home. He lives in Sydney where he loves the lifestyle and enjoys surfing (whenever he can get away from his desk).

Ged is passionate about children’s literacy and tours schools and libraries to explain the secret of good storytelling. He loves interacting with his fans on Facebook, Twitter or whatever social media platform kids are using this month.

Cats On The Run was the highest-selling independently published kids book in Australia in 2016. The sequel, Cats Undercover, claws its way into the shops in February 2017.

In late 2017, Ged will also publish three crime novels for grown-ups.

Ged Gillmore Cats on the run & cats undercover

On sale now

If your kids love out loud fiction, grab a copy of Cats Undercover by Ged Gillmore today!

They have just gone on sale and you can purchase them for $15.99 from Booktopia* and the Book Depository. The eBook is $2.99 on Amazon, Apple, Barnes & Noble and Kobo. To view a full list of stockists click here.

My kids have loved reading Ged’s books so much that I personally will be keeping an eye out for his adult books to be released. I can see Ged Gillmore becoming a household name over the next few years!

Get your hands on a copy of Cats Undercover today!


All Mum Said Win Blog Giveaways

5x WINNERS

Each prize includes: 1x copy of Cats Undercover. RRP $15.99. Total prize pool: $79.95.

Ged Gillmore Cat Undercover book giveaway

 **As the winners are chosen based on skill and not chance; you will be sharing for 0 extra entries however I’d love you to share the giveaway with friends and family. Sharing is caring and karma loves kind people. **

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Terms & Conditions: 
1. Australian residents only.
2. Judges decisions is final.
3. Winners must make contact within 72 hours.
4. This is a game of skill. Chance plays no part!
Therefore no extra points are given for sharing however it is good karma!!
5. All Mum Said is not responsible for delivery of prize.
6. All entries will be signed up to our newsletter, if you do not wish to sign up to our newsletter please advise us via email.
7. If prizes are not available, they will be replaced with similar priced items.
NOT endorsed by or have anything to do with facebook.

If you want to enter more giveaways click over here.

Disclosure: I received the Cats Undercover book for the purpose of this review.
All opinions are my own (or my children). *This post contains affiliate links.

All Mum Said
Get Social

All Mum Said

Connecting mums with real support, articles, giveaways, helpful advice & parenting tips.
All Mum Said
Get Social
SHARE THIS ARTICLE

41 Comments

  1. Mick G
    08/02/2017 / 2:01 pm

    Cockatoos, by Quentin Blake (Aaron’s fave author at the moment 😉 ) full of fun and awesome illustrations

  2. Charl
    08/02/2017 / 3:18 pm

    My daughter loves all the Dr Seuss books and laughs as we read all the tongue twisters and crazy words!

  3. Maree Gray
    08/02/2017 / 6:03 pm

    Miss S loves Enid Blyton – especially the Faraway Tree books because of all the adventures the characters have.

  4. Maha Almoussli
    08/02/2017 / 11:21 pm

    My daughter loves all the Dr. Seuss books
    we have amazing times and laughs as we read all the tongue twisters and crazy uneasily pronounced words!
    but eventually she keeps reading them over and over till she masters the book 🙂

  5. Cherie Stokes
    09/02/2017 / 11:14 am

    My kids love Emily Rodda 🙂

  6. Natalie Murnane
    09/02/2017 / 5:46 pm

    Master 9 is a reading addict… if I take his book away at the dinner table he will read ingredients in anything he can get. He gets so upset if he doesn’t get his bedtime reading in to the point he’ll put himself to bed at 6pm!!! just so he can read. He’s read everything from books on the universe to car racing to dinosaurs but lately he is a GARFIELD lover!! Jim Davis books I gave him for Christmas have been recited over and over. He finished my 30yr old collection and they were falling apart so he has a new huge collection all his own.

  7. Danielle Tassan
    12/02/2017 / 11:32 am

    My eldest loves all the Tom Gates series as they are quirky and funny.

  8. Kathy Bowdlert
    13/02/2017 / 11:47 am

    My kids all love “I’ll Teach My Dog 100 Words”, we’re a little silly when we read it, just as Dr. Seuss would like with hi fun little book.

  9. Ern
    13/02/2017 / 4:01 pm

    Dinosaur Dump. Cracks him up, and the book gets shown to EVERYONE who visits our home, that’s how much he loves this book.

  10. Peta
    13/02/2017 / 4:57 pm

    Trace Moroney – beautifully rhymed books filled with positive emotions like love, family, sharing and being kind. the pictures are gorgeous too

  11. Sonya N
    14/02/2017 / 7:26 am

    My daughter loves Zog by Julia Donaldson! 1. Because the illustrations by Alex Schaffer are really cute, 2. It carries a great message for girls, and 3. It rhymes! My daughter is obsessed with rhyming books!!

  12. Lauren Ibbotson
    17/02/2017 / 11:56 pm

    Miss 5 and Mister 3 just love Aaron Blabey’s books, especially Piranhas Dont Eat Bananas. His books are funny and enjoyable for the whole family with gorgeous illustrations. Good laughs are guaranteed right before bed!

  13. M cowan
    19/02/2017 / 9:13 pm

    Wombat Stew, because my son loves singing the the tune, “gooey brewy, yummy,chewy wombat stew!”

  14. Rebecca B
    20/02/2017 / 6:50 am

    Harry Potter by JK Rowling! I must admit that I love that he loves this series because it is my favourite too!

  15. Rachel K-N
    20/02/2017 / 11:07 am

    My son hated school, hated reading until he discovered John Flanagan. The Ranger’s Apprentice series opened up a new world for him. Full of sorcery, battles, rescues and old world adventure, he now spends hours in his room mesmorised by books. I’m astounded and so proud of him. He’s plowed through this series and onto ‘Brotherband’ series. Don’t know what’s next but John Flanagan best publish some more soon before he finishes.

  16. Melanie Hammond
    20/02/2017 / 3:41 pm

    Dr Seuss books are a family favourite and we all sit down at night and have a read.

  17. Grace B
    23/02/2017 / 1:05 am

    My Boys love reading Roald Dahl, they are behind their years in reading due to their disabilities, but it’s was Roald Dahl’s collection of books which got them interested into reading and they enjoyed Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.

  18. 25/02/2017 / 3:47 pm

    My son loves The Little Mouse, the Red Ripe Strawberry, and the Big Hungry Bear by Don and Audrey wood. He loves knocking on the mouses door and pretending to eat the strawberry!

  19. Jessica Ashbrooke
    27/02/2017 / 12:43 pm

    Roald Dahl BFG I have to read it so much

  20. Maree Wood
    27/02/2017 / 12:50 pm

    All my kids LOVE Dr Seuss!

  21. julie ford
    28/02/2017 / 8:16 pm

    Roald Dahl IMAGINATION AT ITS WILDEST AND BEST COMING TO LIFE amazing and mystical and so special I read them and now my children do too.

  22. julie
    01/03/2017 / 7:12 am

    my son loves the goosebumps books, as he absorbs himself int them and makes his imagination run wild, educational too

  23. Shannon discombe
    01/03/2017 / 2:16 pm

    My daughter would love this she loves a mystery and animals I’ve just got her trying some of my old babysitters club for something different hope she likes them

  24. Barbara Fehmel
    01/03/2017 / 5:20 pm

    “Dr. Seuss” I am afraid I am not a lover of this book, BUT then again I am not a child, who laughs and chuckles just by looking at this rather awful looking CAT. She must see something that I cannot see as an adult.

  25. DIANA
    01/03/2017 / 9:47 pm

    The ‘Photobook’ their Auntie had made specially for the kids, it has photo’s of the entire family, some nice pics, but mostly being silly, with great captions and letters of the alphabet for everyone’s names. And they LOVE seeing their photo’s in a hard cover, glossy book. It is pretty cool, I think it’s my favourite book too, purely because it gives them so much joy.

  26. Bryan Rigby-Roberts
    01/03/2017 / 11:55 pm

    As a kid I loved the Mr Men and Little Miss series by Roger Hargreaves – my favourite was Mr. Tickle – even though it scared me so much I could barely sleep for months!

  27. Amanda
    03/03/2017 / 5:45 pm

    Pig the Pug books! Humorous, rhyming and totally adorable characters. What’s no to love?!

  28. Kate Slack
    04/03/2017 / 2:11 pm

    My daughter loves to read the Diary of a Wimpy Kid books, she has re-read them over and over, i must admit i think they are good too and i often laugh out loud when reading to her at bedtime!

  29. Sonya N
    05/03/2017 / 7:32 am

    Anything by Julia Donaldson, but especially Zog, because it carries such a great message for young girls and the illustrations in her books (usually by Alex Scheffler) are so cute!

  30. Linda Hynson
    05/03/2017 / 10:36 am

    Enid Blyton-particularly the mallory towers and st clairs series-think she loves the idea of boarding school!!

  31. Renee davis
    05/03/2017 / 1:04 pm

    Harry potter! They love the magical side of everything so these books are great 😁

  32. Sharon Markwell
    06/03/2017 / 11:49 am

    Enid Blyton’s Noddy books are a firm favourite for our whole family as Noddy can make anyone feel wonderful.

  33. 08/03/2017 / 8:50 am

    All Graeme Base’s beautifully illustrated books … adore ANIMALIA – an across generational thing! The WATERHOLE – wickedly wonderful experience.

  34. Amanda S
    08/03/2017 / 9:34 pm

    My son is a big J.K. Rowling fan. He hasn’t actually read her books yet but he is just in awe on how rich she became by writing and has decided he wants to be an author too.

  35. Becky Downey
    10/03/2017 / 12:18 am

    Harry Potter as it literally is spell-binding – no one wants to stop reading aloud as it’s so exciting from cover to cover.

  36. Kristina S
    13/03/2017 / 8:11 am

    My girls have so many favourites. They love Wimpy kid, Storey Treehouse and Tom Gates. Throw in a few Garfield comics and their weekends are set

  37. Tamara Lamb
    14/03/2017 / 10:45 pm

    My son loves Roald Dahl and especially The BFG. I know I also loved it as a kid but never read it 3+ times like my son!

  38. Tracy
    15/03/2017 / 10:55 am

    The story of Russ, the Australian tree kangaroo. I loved this story as a child and read it over and over and over. My kids adore it too

  39. 15/03/2017 / 3:08 pm

    My son has many favourite authors, Emily Rodda, Andy Griffiths and Rick Riordan to name a few. He’s a bookworm and loves cats!!!

  40. Michelle
    15/03/2017 / 4:25 pm

    We love Chicka chicka boom boom because it fun to read.

  41. Tam
    15/03/2017 / 11:34 pm

    My Daughter loves Mem Fox, she has just started reading with expression and is quite entertaining.
    My son loves reading the thirteen storey tree house series by Andy Griffiths. I am often hearing laughing from his bedroom when he is meant to be asleep.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.