Home » Reviews » Movies/DVDs » Oddball Review + Giveaway

Oddball Review + Giveaway

The first I heard of the movie Oddball was when my boys brought home a note from school requesting that they go on an excursion to the cinema to watch it. It wasn’t exactly sure what it was about but after a quick Google search, I wanted to see it as well.

Oddball review

Oddball Review

In all honesty I was surprised by how much I enjoyed this movie. It had every aspect of a good movie; love, a hero, fluffy animals, the underdog, the twist and much more. So what is Oddball about? Well it is basically about a penguin sanctuary that is loosing penguins by the day (technically night) to the claws of foxes. In an effort to save the penguins and Swampy Marsh’s dog Oddball; they take a high stakes risk and leave Oddball on the island. To their delight and the surprise of Swampy’s daughter, Oddball saves the day. He had found his true calling!

Oddball review
This is a wonderfully heart-touching film that is perfect for the whole family.

Oddball review

Roadshow Synopsis 
Happy Feet meets Red Dog in this hilarious and heart-warming true story about a mischievous dog who defies the odds and saves a penguin colony from extinction.He’s lovable, loyal and quite the handful. In fact, Oddball the dog has a reputation in his local community as a bit of a troublemaker. So when his eccentric owner, Swampy Marsh, suggests Oddball could be trained to protect the endangered penguins on the nearby island from foxes, the authorities think he’s barking mad. But Swampy always likes to bite off more than he can chew. With the help of his beloved granddaughter, the feisty farmer sets out to prove that man’s-best-friend can be a penguin’s best friend too.

Oddball review

Cast include: Shane Jacobson (Kenny), Sarah Snook (Dressmaker), Coco Jack Gillies (Mad Max: Fury Road), Deborah Mailman (Paper Planes) and ‘Kai’ the Maremma sheep dog star in the box office hit with a heart as big as Australia.

Released: December 16th 2015     Rating: $39.95     Rating: G

Win | giveaways | prizes | All Mum Said

Prize Includes: 1x Oddball DVD. RRP $39.95.
Oddball review DVD

**As the winners are chosen based on skill and not chance; you will be sharing for 0 extra entries however I’d love you to share the giveaway with friends and family. Sharing is caring and karma loves kind people. **

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Terms & Conditions: 
1. Australian residents only.
2. Judges decisions is final.
3. Winners must make contact within 72 hours.
4. This is a game of skill. Chance plays no part!
Therefore no extra points are given for sharing however it is good karma!!
5. All Mum Said is not responsible for delivery of prize.
NOT endorsed by or have anything to do with facebook.

If you want to enter more giveaways click over here.

Disclosure: I received a copy of Oddball for the purpose of this review. All opinions are my own.

All Mum Said
Get Social
SHARE THIS ARTICLE

55 Comments

  1. Kristy winters
    17/01/2016 / 8:59 am

    They jump with both feet together if they want to move more quickly or cross steep areas or rocks

  2. Teresa Clark
    17/01/2016 / 11:52 am

    The King penguin Has a very long hatching length of time ,it takes about 14-16 months for a single penguin chick to hatch from their egg. They don’t make nests, instead they lay only one egg at a time and carry it around on their feet covered with a flap of abdominal skin called the brood patch. Such dedication to reproduction.

  3. Rachel K
    17/01/2016 / 3:05 pm

    Penguins have been known to become depressed and march away from their groups to die. I know how they feel! Sometimes I feel this way too but choose to soldier on, remembering my krill bowl is always half full and never half empty!

  4. Natasha McDonald
    17/01/2016 / 4:03 pm

    The blue penguin also known as the fairy penguin the smallest of the penguin species at 41cm It weighs about 1 kg, The largest penguin is the emperor penguin 1.1m tall and weighs 27-41 kg, Such a huge weight and height difference

  5. Anthea Cornish
    17/01/2016 / 11:43 pm

    What an amazing story, a beaut movie for all ages. Dogs are wonderful as are penguins and this amazing tale will ensure there is not a dry eye in the house. Would recommend to all young children particularly to teach them about the animal kingdom,love and friendship.

  6. Paula Harris
    18/01/2016 / 9:35 am

    I’m a fairy penguin lover and got behind the “Knits for Nature’ program when it was running…..penguins who had been rescued from an oil spill and needed woolly jumpers to stay warm.

  7. Julia Parker
    18/01/2016 / 11:07 am

    Penguins have a gland in their body that acts like a filter to separate the salt from the water. Meaning they actually drink salt water quite safely!

  8. Mick G
    18/01/2016 / 12:58 pm

    The Gentoo penguin makes as many as 450 dives per day when foraging for krill, their main diet.

  9. Ern
    18/01/2016 / 3:11 pm

    That when they’re in love, they love for life, and the boy penguin presents his chosen female mate with a pebble that he’s procrastinated over for ages.

  10. Racheal M
    18/01/2016 / 3:17 pm

    There are approximately 17 species of penguins under 6 genera all found in the southern hemisphere with the Little penguins only found in southern Australia and New Zealand

  11. Di
    18/01/2016 / 3:37 pm

    There’s a special gland behind their eyes, can’t remember it’s exact name, but it filters the salt water they ingest while hunting for fish, out of their systems via their beaks or when they sneeze! They have like a mini desalination plant in their heads!!!

  12. jane gardam
    18/01/2016 / 5:37 pm

    Penguins’ eyes work better under water than they do in air. Many scientists believe penguins are extremely short-sighted on land.

  13. james pizzey
    18/01/2016 / 7:18 pm

    male emperor penguins must cope with the worst weather conditions on earth, all the while eating nothing Careful to keep the egg sheltered,

  14. Jessica Maloney
    18/01/2016 / 9:00 pm

    They look classier than any gentlemen in a tuxedo!

  15. Phillip Cunningham
    18/01/2016 / 10:28 pm

    The Galapagos Penguin lives farther north than any other penguin and is the only penguin that might venture into the Northern Hemisphere.

  16. Jenny L
    19/01/2016 / 8:11 am

    Penguins live almost exclusively in the southern hemisphere and deppending on the type of penguin their lifespan can be anything from 1 year up to 20 years.

  17. Charlotte L.
    19/01/2016 / 4:21 pm

    Many penguins will mate with the same member of the opposite sex each season. They also return to the same nesting spot.

  18. Maria
    20/01/2016 / 9:12 am

    Penguins swallow pebbles and stones as well as their food. Scientists believe that the stones may help grind up and digest their food. The stones may also add enough extra weight to help penguins dive deeper.b

  19. sarah mary
    20/01/2016 / 2:59 pm

    The tallest penguin ever reached nearly 6 feet and weighed just over 90kg! That’s HUGE

  20. Narelle Abbie
    21/01/2016 / 8:13 pm

    I love that the man is the one who has to look after the baby

  21. Nell Hamilton-Schulz
    21/01/2016 / 8:26 pm

    Penguin sight is great as they fly through the air
    But even better under water. They can see without a care.
    This means no hungry babies. The can see to hunt for food
    That’s an amazing fact. I think it’s pretty good.

  22. julie ford
    21/01/2016 / 9:51 pm

    penguins mate for life.

  23. Amanda S
    22/01/2016 / 6:39 am

    A group of young penguin chicks is called a “crèche.”
    A group of penguins in the water is called a “raft.”
    A group of penguins on land is called a “waddle”.

  24. sue petrie
    22/01/2016 / 8:05 am

    Penguins sleep standing up.Penguins are oriented by the sun.

  25. nicole larsen
    22/01/2016 / 4:11 pm

    That all penquins are super cute

  26. Caroline Fulford
    22/01/2016 / 8:25 pm

    Penguins have knees

  27. carly
    22/01/2016 / 11:49 pm

    the dads incubate the eggs 🙂

  28. Amanda
    22/01/2016 / 11:59 pm

    Penguins cannot breath underwater!

  29. Mikaela C
    23/01/2016 / 1:43 pm

    King penguins have one of the longest breeding cycles, taking 14-16 months for a single chick to hatch! They must be very patient!

  30. Richard Harrison
    23/01/2016 / 2:24 pm

    Unlike most birds who molt gradually, penguins do a catastrophic molt and lose all their feathers at once

  31. Peta Newsome
    23/01/2016 / 9:19 pm

    I love that the Little Penguin,
    only weighs 1.5 kilos!
    So tiny and so cute,
    it’s like they forgot to grow. 🙂

  32. 24/01/2016 / 12:27 pm

    I love that Emperor penguins can live up to 20 years!

  33. 24/01/2016 / 3:24 pm

    i love the fact the dad’s incubate the eggs pretty amazing

  34. Kate Slack
    24/01/2016 / 5:51 pm

    Fossils place the earliest penguin relative at some 60 million years ago, meaning an ancestor of the birds we see today survived the mass extinction of the dinosaurs, I find this amazing!

  35. Ashley Beech
    24/01/2016 / 6:18 pm

    Most penguins are monogamous…I love the fact that most of them stay faithful to each other…it makes me feel like their the romantics in the animal kingdom!

  36. Karyn Munro
    24/01/2016 / 9:18 pm

    No penguins live at the North Pole, apparently it’s too far to swim from the South Pole and they don’t travel by boat!!!

  37. Elisabeth Martins
    25/01/2016 / 2:38 am

    The most interesting Penguin fact I have read is that when the babies are sell in the egg, the mothers go away and hunt for food for over 3 months while the fathers stay with the babies between their legs. It’s so upsetting seeing how many don’t make it.

  38. Angela Kelly
    26/01/2016 / 12:48 am

    That the Dadas do all the babysitting while the Mamas do all the providing – GIRL POWER!!!

  39. Sharon Markwell
    26/01/2016 / 9:53 am

    King and emperor penguins lay one egg. All other species of penguin lay two eggs. Bet you didn’t know that!

  40. Chantelle T
    26/01/2016 / 12:19 pm

    There are many things I love about Emperor penguins. I love how the dad looks after the egg & chick. I love how the mates cuddle when mum returns & they can distinguish each other’s call. I also love how they take turns to be in the centre of the warm huddle.

  41. Natalie Murnane
    28/01/2016 / 9:24 am

    I love that they play. Diving from heights and tobogganing on their tummies just for fun.

  42. Ashleigh Emerson
    28/01/2016 / 6:56 pm

    They mate for life!

  43. Linda S
    29/01/2016 / 8:20 pm

    Penguins drink salt water! (They have a gland that filters out the salt)

  44. Karla Oleinikoff
    30/01/2016 / 2:00 am

    Scientists can find large penguin colonies from space by looking for poo stained dark ice. Large colonies mean lots of penguins which means lots of poo!

  45. Roberto Colombi
    30/01/2016 / 3:02 pm

    Chinstrap penguins are most populous penguins with a total population of over 13 million – That’s alot of birds and bird poop

  46. Eva Kiraly
    30/01/2016 / 5:27 pm

    Dad babysits and they stay together for life!

  47. Kristina S
    30/01/2016 / 9:39 pm

    Penguins can often be seen surfing through the waves onto land. Love it. Real life Surf’s Up.

  48. Katrina Bradfield
    30/01/2016 / 10:24 pm

    Apparently penguins have excellent hearing and rely on distinct calls to identify their mates when returning to the crowded breeding grounds.

  49. Sarah
    31/01/2016 / 7:21 am

    Great movie, awesome to add to the DVD collection.

  50. Sharon M
    31/01/2016 / 11:15 am

    If a female Emperor Penguin’s baby dies, she will often “kidnap” an unrelated chick—but rather than raise it as her own, she soon abandons the stolen chick, how sad 🙁

  51. Julia Mason
    31/01/2016 / 12:40 pm

    I love that they mate for life..

  52. John G
    31/01/2016 / 6:30 pm

    i love how there are 17 of them in the southern hemisphere, talk about diversity among penguins

  53. Becky S
    31/01/2016 / 7:14 pm

    Penguins can spend up to 75% of their lives in the water.

  54. Laura Scriven
    31/01/2016 / 8:24 pm

    Penguins in Antarctica have no land based predators.

  55. 31/01/2016 / 10:22 pm

    Penguins sneeze to get the saltwater out of their blood stream!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.