Home » Technology » Alcatel Dex Smartphone Review + Giveaway

Alcatel Dex Smartphone Review + Giveaway

The time comes for every parent to let their child take control of their first mobile phone. This is a massive step because it means that your child is growing up, becoming more mature and ready to take on this extra responsibility.

So what kind of phone do they need? Do they need the latest and greatest mobile phone on the market? Absolutely not! There are plenty of cheap yet adequate mobiles that are perfect as a first mobile phone. The beauty of prepaid mobiles today is that the phones are affordable and there are some great offers for prepaid sims. It’s not like a decade ago when you would wait until 8pm so you could text your best mate for free!

Alcatel Dex smartphone Boost mobile

Alcatel Dex smartphone – Boost Mobile

My kids are not quite at the age of having a mobile phone, my eldest is only 10 so for the past week I have been using the Alcatel Dex smartphone from Boost Mobile to give a review on whether it would make a good first phone.

In short… YES! The Dex would be perfect for a child getting their first phone or an adult that doesn’t need the most expensive and up to date features. So here is a summary of what I thought.

  • Colours – Upon opening the box I realised that you can actually choose what colour backing you want as it comes with 3 interchangeable covers – black, green and orange. Naturally I went with green because it is bright and I can find it in my handbag. The front of the phone remains black and cannot be changed.
  • Durability – I was pleasantly surprised by how durable the Alcatel Dex mobile actually is. I have dropped it (unintentionally, I’m just clumsy) a few times now and not even a scratch. I know that if I were to drop my Samsung Galaxy without its life-proof case, I would be needing to replace the screen. So that is definitely a win, it’s durable!
  • Size – The size is quite convenient, it isn’t too small yet still large enough that it is easy to use. It is 14cm long, 7cm wide and 1cm deep with a 12.5cm (5”) display.
  • Display quality – While it is not the crispest image I have seen on a mobile phone, for the price of the Dex it stands up pretty well! The display is clear and easy to see.
  • Camera – Offering a 5MP rear camera and 2MP front camera, you can take sufficient photos and selfies to cherish and share.
  • Coverage – We are in a pretty good area in terms of mobile phone coverage so I cannot comment for those who aren’t but I have not any issues not getting service. It is also 4G compatible.
  • Ease of use – I’ll be honest, swapping out my usual phone for this Alcatel Dex smartphone one has been like learning a new language. I have had to learn how it all operates, where each feature goes and retrain what my brain is used to. But for the most part, it has been very easy to use! It also comes with a wide range of notification sounds, the battery lasts for quite some time and it uses Goggle Play for its apps.
  • Storage – 8GB memory that is expandable up to 32GB.
  • RRP – $99.00. This includes the Alcatel Dex smartphone and $10 starter credit with sim. You can purchase the Dex on boostmobile.com.au, or in leading retailers Kmart, Target or Big W.

Alcatel Dex smartphone review Boost mobile

If you or your child will be using this for social media, texting, phone calls and just the standard stuff but don’t want to spend a fortune, the Alcatel Dex smartphone is perfect. It may be cheap but it’s not nasty!



All Mum Said Win Blog Giveaways

Prize includes: 1x Alcatel Dex smartphone (and sim card with $10 credit) + $30 Boost Mobile credit.

Alcatel Dex smartphone review Boost mobile

**As the winners are chosen based on skill and not chance; you will be sharing for 0 extra entries however I’d love you to share the giveaway with friends and family. Sharing is caring and karma loves kind people. **

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Terms & Conditions: 
1. Australian residents only.
2. Judges decisions is final.
3. Winners must make contact within 72 hours.
4. This is a game of skill. Chance plays no part!
Therefore no extra points are given for sharing however it is good karma!!
5. All Mum Said is not responsible for delivery of prize.
6. All entries will be signed up to our newsletter, if you do not wish to sign up to our newsletter please advise us via email.
7. If prizes are not available, they will be replaced with similar priced items.
NOT endorsed by or have anything to do with facebook.

If you want to enter more giveaways click over here.

Disclosure: I received the Alcatel Dex smartphone for the purpose of this review.
All opinions are my own.

Get Social

All Mum Said

Connecting mums with real support, articles, giveaways, helpful advice & parenting tips.
All Mum Said
Get Social
SHARE THIS ARTICLE

63 Comments

  1. Barbara Fehmel
    31/03/2017 / 3:01 pm

    I would never let a child have a Mobile phone until he/she is at High school. I do not think it is necessary, at High School it is different as things like being kept late for sports, being detention and other numerous delays. there is also the safety factor as the child might have to take public transport now and we all know what problems that may bring.
    So in my summary, “NOT UNTIL THEY ARE 12 OR UPWARDS.

  2. Maree Gray
    01/04/2017 / 6:38 pm

    Once in High School I think kids should have a mobile phone, for safety in case they miss the bus or train or they don’t turn up (as is often the case) or for other emergencies such as just recently when school was cancelled due to the weather conditions.

  3. inthegoodbooksblog ( Michelle)
    03/04/2017 / 6:38 am

    My eldest daughter in in her first year of high school. At this stage, she doesn’t have a mobile phone. We recently had an issue come up where a mobile phone would’ve resulted in a totally different outcome, so I really want to get one for her as soon as possible…
    What happened was that my daughter went on her Year 7 camp and parents were told that the kids were due back to the school at about 3:30pm. (They usually are dismissed at 3:05pm).
    So I thought I’d pick up my other two daughters from primary school first and then get to the high school just in time for the 3:30pm pick up.
    But it turns out that the bus returned at 3pm and children were dismissed at 3:05 as normal. My daughter was waiting for me for over 20 minutes. Thankfully, a mum that we know was kind enough to wait with her until I got there. If my daughter had a phone, she could’ve sms’d me and I would’ve picked her up first. I’d hate to think what could’ve happened if she was waiting for me on her own for over 20 minutes!

  4. Paula
    03/04/2017 / 7:15 am

    I like the idea of my 13 year old having a phone because we can contact each other when we’re not together, especially over the school holidays as she’s often out and about with her friends…..and I know she is safe

  5. Jacq
    03/04/2017 / 6:10 pm

    This is a great giveaway and will be very useful for our family. Thanks so much for hosting the Kel! xx

    Jacq
    jacqwritesworld.com

  6. Anthea Cornish
    03/04/2017 / 7:05 pm

    My biggest concern is their access to the internet and social media which can be very dangerous. You don’t have the ability to supervise when the kids are out and about.

  7. Amy Petersen
    04/04/2017 / 6:17 am

    Truthfully I have a big concern about safety so i’m concerned she’ll need it for safety while out with friends but also think it might get her into trouble with all the apps and how people can find out where she is at the click of a button!

  8. Carmen
    04/04/2017 / 3:33 pm

    I’m really afraid of online predators hidden in social media apps so I have been teaching my children not to use certain apps. This way, I’m letting them know that I trust them with a phone and what they do. Besides, I’m sure there is a way to lock additional downloads to the phone but I just need to find how to. Despite this concern, I would still like my child to have a phone so that they can call me if they ever needed anything and I’ll be able to track there whereabouts for safety reasons.

  9. Adrienne HARRIES
    04/04/2017 / 3:34 pm

    Phones with limited data access and monitored from 13 is ok with me
    But the perils and restrictions must be explained and consequences in regards to online safety

  10. Amanda
    04/04/2017 / 8:58 pm

    My son is getting a touch more independence and i would love him to have a phone purely for safety reasons – no social media AT ALL. Would ease my mind when he is out and about.

  11. ERN
    05/04/2017 / 6:54 pm

    Through the roof, sky high, bills, for all the texts, all the calls and of course all the expensive apps kids these days seem to need to live their lives. How we survived without them, suffering a landline in a room where adults were always within earshot, the horror!! I think we’ll keep our landline connected purely for torture purposes, when the kids are bad, the punishment will be taking their mobiles, and letting them live the life, using the old fashioned telephone. There are perks to being a parent 🙂

  12. Heather Hopley
    05/04/2017 / 9:23 pm

    A mobile phone is a wonderful tool to increase the safety of children if they understand when and how to use it but also have a clear understanding of the implications of reckless use.
    I’m my opinion it is not necessary nor wise to allow access to the Internet on children’s mobiles. But being able to send and receive messages can be very beneficial.

  13. claire evans
    06/04/2017 / 12:47 am

    allwoing others to ring china and othe rplaces, oh no bill

  14. Jade O
    06/04/2017 / 7:15 am

    We are currently dealing with this situation with our 10 year old as well. He’s at the stage where he wants to see his friends after school and go bike riding and playing at the park yet I fear for his safety. We have talked about getting him a phone where he can only call or text but i’ve always been a firm believer that children don’t or won’t need a phone until they are in their teens… boy how times have changed. They really don’t need access to the internet so something basic would be perfect and give me added peace of mind.

  15. Anne
    06/04/2017 / 8:45 am

    My biggest concern of any of the kids having a mobile is the same I have with them being on the computer and that is having them deal with scammers, hackers and other unsavory types. They have all been taught internet safety since they were little but it is still a worry for me.

  16. DIANA
    06/04/2017 / 2:19 pm

    That they misplace (lose) it or it gets stolen by a bully or out of envy, which I’ve heard has been going on a bit of late. Yes I know it can be password protected, but still the nightmare of then having to get another phone, that’s fashionable enough to be seen with, but doesn’t require a second mortgage to buy. And cracked screens too, because we all know as hard as kids try to look after things, accidents absolutely always do somehow seem to happen.

  17. Lesleigh S
    06/04/2017 / 3:23 pm

    Even reasonably savvy adults have been scammed by scammers so that is my main concern as these lowlifes have no morals and can be very convincing

  18. Caroline Lissaman
    09/04/2017 / 4:48 pm

    My biggest concern is my child running up an unpayable phone bill if on a plan with prepaid he might have zero credit in an emergency.

  19. Amy Macdonald
    09/04/2017 / 7:28 pm

    The safety of kids having mobile phones is sometimes outweighed by the danger of those kids being subject to bullies.trying to steal off a vulnerable kid. To have an inexpensive phone that can withstand damage but still live up to all the needs is a great idea.

  20. Nichole McKee
    09/04/2017 / 7:43 pm

    My biggest concern is that apps will become life instead of education, but I also understand that Kid’s need an outlet to relax

  21. Lynnette Bull
    11/04/2017 / 2:13 pm

    I would love my eldest to have a phone as she just had her first weekend away from home and I would have loved to be able to keep in contact directly with her. Let her know I love her and just a message every now and again to check she is safe. I think it would also be good for these types of trips away from home for her to have a way to contact me directly incase she is feeling uncomfortable about a situation. I know she can get shy around adults so she would not tell her friends parents instead just keeping it to herself.

  22. Natalie Murnane
    13/04/2017 / 7:17 am

    I put my two boys on the bus and they travel 40km to get to school. It scares me daily and next year my daughter will be with them. I once missed the bus pick up and they took the kids back to town but I didn’t know where so went to the school and after a few phone calls they were found at the bus depot. My eldest is very responsible and will be night hiking as a junior ranger this year with ranger Clair as well as doing the odd weekend, doing swimming lessons and soccer. I love to try and be with all three kids for everything but when I can’t then he is the one alone and although he will only be 10 this year I believe we would both feel safer if he could contact me if the need arose.

  23. Kate Hardman
    13/04/2017 / 11:10 pm

    My step daughter has a mobile phone and is constantly on it – she’s 12. My partner doesn’t have access to it or to know what she’s doing on it and I don’t like that at all. Bullying is rampant amongst teens as it was when I was young, but today social media is just another way to get into the heads of easy prey.

  24. Angela M
    14/04/2017 / 11:08 am

    My biggest concern is that my daughter forgets to put her mobile phone on or she doesn’t hear me phoning or sending her an sms. Then I worry!! She goes to high school by train and she’s always lost in her books but she just forgets everything happening around her. And sometimes she doesn’t notice her train station. 🙂

  25. Kim
    15/04/2017 / 12:28 pm

    I honestly have so many fears, introducing mobiles to my little dears. I’m concerned about unsuitable internet content, plus the risk of bullying and harassment 🙁

  26. Linda Courtney
    16/04/2017 / 2:30 pm

    My biggest concern is having my daughter run up huge bills.

  27. Kelly Brown
    17/04/2017 / 6:13 pm

    My biggest concern is safety. I got myself in quite a lot of trouble as a young girl when the internet / mobile phones came out and I don’t want my kids to have that happen to them.

  28. Jessica Ashbrooke
    19/04/2017 / 3:19 pm

    Not till high school, although I didn’t have one in high school at all and I survived

  29. Tracey Taylor
    20/04/2017 / 9:07 am

    Like it or not mobile phones and children will always be debatable.Safety never is.If your child needs to have quick access to you then its a no brainer.

  30. Kristina S
    22/04/2017 / 8:04 pm

    The lack of realisation teens have with long term consequences. I have a teenage daughter who has friends with very provocative facebook photos (profiles etc) I have had talks with her about. Your future employer one day may check your page. Your school teachers may see these images and while she hasnt I still tried to bring it home to her that online all people have is the cover. They don’t know you and what you are about. Sorry close to home of a recent talk with my daughter. So my major concern is constant online access and the fact that they are kids they don’t think about consequences and online can be forever. 1 mistake could follow you for years, forever. think before you post, before you speak.

  31. Sharon
    23/04/2017 / 11:02 pm

    Mobile phones are not necessary while at school, if they need to use the phone they can go to the office and make a phone call there. Phones are a huge distraction for kids, recess and lunch should be time spent to eat and chat and mingle with friends. They also shouldn’t need them at home, they can use a landline to speak to their friends or go over to their house. Once they reach Year 11/12 and start Workplace or a part time job, then it is time. Kids get phones way too early and can rack up thousands of dollars of bills without even knowing it. Also, at a press of a button they are on the internet looking up all sorts of rubbish. Technology is good but there is a time and place for it 🙂

  32. kerrie
    24/04/2017 / 2:49 pm

    When they are walking around in the public, crossing roads and streets and they are playing on their phones unaware of their surroundings. Its very dangerous as they could get hit by a car or someone hurting them.

  33. Bek
    24/04/2017 / 3:24 pm

    A mobile phone alleviating fears
    Due to pressure from peers
    A text should the need arise
    We have a policy of no judgement or lies

  34. Milla O'Donnell
    24/04/2017 / 10:04 pm

    My kids do not have facebook,
    Or any social media at all.
    Internet access is supervised,
    They are safe behind that wall.
    But as my son approaches 12,
    There are times a phone proves handy.
    To contact me when we aren’t together,
    In case of an emergency.
    He isn’t ready for a phone full time,
    There’s no need for it really.
    Perhaps when he hits high school,
    And shows responsability.
    I think a phone would help,
    In giving him some trust.
    A little taste of independence,
    Just an inch can mean so much.
    It would help him to feel safe,
    In the times im not around.
    To know that he can call,
    One button and I’m found.

    • 10/06/2017 / 1:12 pm

      Congratulations! You have won. Please check your email.

  35. paul ready
    25/04/2017 / 12:00 pm

    I gave my daughter a phone with no internet access, and the understanding is that it is for necessary communication only. Her social networking is done at home on the family computer.

  36. adam
    25/04/2017 / 10:55 pm

    my daughter would love this

  37. Sarah Eustace
    26/04/2017 / 4:29 am

    I have just received the good news that after nearly two months in hospital I will be coming home soonish at least in a few months, my 10 year of son asked me only last night if I could get him a mobile so he can call me from school. He’s struggling without me. And wants to be Able to call me from school as he’s getting bullied because I’ve been so sick and he’s putting on weight. It would be lovely to be able to give him this…

  38. 26/04/2017 / 3:32 pm

    It’s like anything you have to teach your kids what’s right and what’s wrong, a mobile phone is good for the kids if they use it in the appropriate way like emergencies, were there going, who with, address, some phones have tracking on them and it is so true kids only need a basic phone.

  39. Jean
    28/04/2017 / 12:06 am

    For me it easy… A mobile phone is key!
    It’s a means of never being out of contact with our kids. Wherever they are they can quickly make contact, that’s so important to their safety and to me. Sometimes a call just to say hello and find out how ones day is going means the world. It’s a way of keeping up with teen issues and providing trusty mum advice. The Alcatel Dex seems like a great first phone and another step towards maintaining an open line of communication with the precious people in my life. I want the kids to share as much as they do now with me in twenty years time. We’re family, talking and sharing really is a great thing!

  40. Lyn Smith Cornege
    28/04/2017 / 1:20 am

    My biggest concern with children having a mobile phone is that they will lose touch with human interaction. A verbal conversation with emotion and facial expressions is much more meaningful that a text with a few emojis. I can see texting is already replacing aspects of our lives — sending birthday texts instead of phone calls, texting “I’m here” instead of knocking on the door, texting a conversation for ten minutes instead of ringing….. So, I think this all comes down to setting boundaries upfront and good role modelling.

    In saying that’s my biggest concern, I want to share my biggest joy about children with phones…, All my family live interstate and my nieces and nephews have received a phone around 10 years old. I love that I can regularly send them photos, jokes and ring and ask them about their day at school quite easily. And they now can the ability to contact me whenever they want, which they never could before. And that’s priceless.

  41. Sacha Pech
    28/04/2017 / 9:13 am

    I would say my biggest fear for letting my child having their own phone is accessibility to dodgy or inappropriate apps. For sure we’d have to monitor what is downloaded BEFORE it is done. Our 8 yo accidentally downloaded an asian dating app to his tablet not knowing what it was. Now wifi is given at our discretion.

  42. Alicia Bardsley
    28/04/2017 / 8:16 pm

    I love the fact that they can contact us in an emergency but I worry that they have access 24/7

  43. lexy
    28/04/2017 / 9:00 pm

    My biggest concern is that I get complacent and think “that will never happen to my kids”. My son (13) needs a phone and I use safeguards to monitor his usage. I still monitor websites viewed, have password details and make sure I can see any social media. I think a huge concern is believing the things happening in todays world cyberbullying, sexting and inappropriate communication only happens to other families, I hope I can always maintain open and honest communication with my children to ensure they are informed of the dangers and understand the consequences while also respecting certain levels of privacy and trust….what a balance!

  44. sharyn w
    28/04/2017 / 9:31 pm

    I have a love/hate relationship with this – My children will most likely get a mobile phone once they reach highschool but it will be used for emergencies and i will be monitoring it closely (hopefully they will still have phones then that dont have social apps etc on them as my current phone is not a smart phone and i cannot access those things on my phone and that will be all my children need – in saying that though i wish i had a smart phone for taking photos of my children now etc). It will be great that they will have a mobile to contact me etc when needed, but i worry about cyber bullying (seems to be more prevalent due to mobile apps etc), grooming from strangers, my children giving out their phone numbers to people they shouldnt and then those people contacting my children without me knowing – the list goes on (and my anxieties increase). But a basic mobile phone (with phone and texting) for emergencies etc is really a good idea though (so long as i can keep a bit of control over this).

  45. Roberto Colombi
    29/04/2017 / 10:20 am

    The prospect of bullying can be taken to a new extreme – need to be ever vigilant

  46. Emma Lunn
    29/04/2017 / 10:26 am

    becoming phone obsessed – not using it as a necessity but being glued to it 24/7

  47. Belinda
    29/04/2017 / 3:18 pm

    My bigggest concern is what the phone bill might be at the end of the month, what photos could be taken with the camera or what texts they may receive or send

  48. AH
    29/04/2017 / 3:30 pm

    My concern is that they will get caught up in the device and not enjoy the ‘real’ world, to me its important to let the experience ‘boredom’ as some of the best things happen because there was nothing else to do

  49. Vija
    29/04/2017 / 4:25 pm

    Security is the biggest reason that I would want them to have a mobile. Its a quick communication device for an emergency situation. With the way the world is going, stranger danger is very real

  50. Tamara Lamb
    29/04/2017 / 7:09 pm

    This is my son’s first year of high school so we finally got him a new phone just in case he needed to contact us. Within 3 weeks our worst nightmare about him having a phone happened. It was stolen and smashed! My son was gutted!

  51. Elisabeth Martins
    30/04/2017 / 12:15 am

    My biggest concerns are their privacy of course, getting on the internet and talking to people or seeing things they shouldn’t be. Also, spending too much money on calls and data and thirdly growing up too fast and staring at a screen all the time.

  52. Eva Kiraly
    30/04/2017 / 9:41 am

    Internet access, they’ll have access to the www and that’s scary, there’s a lot of predators out there!

  53. Elizabeth Conquest
    30/04/2017 / 4:05 pm

    Honestly, I couldn’t be bothered deleting my browser history and it’s getting a little ’50 shades of grey’ in there, if you know what I mean! The last thing I want is to be giving my teenagers adult content on a silver platter! Best they have their own phone with high privacy settings I can control!

  54. hayley shaw
    30/04/2017 / 4:44 pm

    The internet side of phones is really scary ! with the world full of unsavory people preying on our children you have to be really strict on what your kiddies can use and how they use it.

  55. 30/04/2017 / 6:40 pm

    Its a do or dont situation, safety for the children in having a phone is a priority and yet it can be misused in the company of the childs friends so you only hope they use it for the right things

  56. FAYE
    30/04/2017 / 7:58 pm

    Having just returned to work after being a stay at home Mum, I’d love my daughter to have this phone, so we can be in connect when necessary..

  57. 30/04/2017 / 8:55 pm

    Being a single mum, I wanted my girls to feel safe, having a mobile meant they could contact me if they needed me.

    On the other hand, it has caused its own problems with “learning the hard way” that kids can use them to do things that are not acceptable at school etc.

  58. Belinda Bee
    30/04/2017 / 9:03 pm

    My biggest concern is my young child running up huge bills and access to the internet unsupervised! I’m mobile phone illiterate so I’m guessing there are measures in place for these and despite my concerns, a mobile phone for a child that is used sensibly is a direct link between them and me and that brings me peace of mind.

  59. Dianne
    30/04/2017 / 9:14 pm

    For emergency use only!

  60. Becky Palmer
    30/04/2017 / 11:13 pm

    Exposure to adult content, cyber bullying,

  61. Becky Downey
    30/04/2017 / 11:29 pm

    The amount of time playing phone games!

  62. Laura Baker
    30/04/2017 / 11:30 pm

    I look around shopping centre, the cafe and all around the town
    Everyone’s looking at their lap with their heads facing down
    I look around park and it is the same way
    I feel saddened as I realise, these parents aren’t watching their children play
    These precious moments pass so fast indeed
    In an instant, they’ll be gone – and all we will remember is our news feed
    I worry when I see this, that my kids will also miss these things
    All of life small moments, every time the phone rings
    This is why I’m hesitant for them to have their own
    For all the memories they will hold will be of Instagram, Facebook, their lap and a phone!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.