Home » Reviews » Movies/DVDs » American Ultra & Good Kill Review + Giveaway

American Ultra & Good Kill Review + Giveaway

Good Kill Review

good kill review

Good Kill is exhilarating and thought provoking. A fighter pilot turned drone pilot fights the Taliban via remote control and begins to wonder whether he is doing the right thing. Is this a war that is never going to end? Is he making things worse?

Good Kill review

Roadshow Synopsis: In the shadowy world of drone warfare, combat unfolds like a video game – only with real lives at stake. After six tours of duty, Air Force pilot Tom Egan (Ethan Hawke) yearns to get back into the cockpit of a real plane, but he now fights the Taliban from an air-conditioned box in the Las Vegas desert. When he and his crew start taking orders directly from the CIA, and the stakes are raised, Egan’s nerves – and his relationship with his wife (January Jones) – begin to unravel. Revealing the psychological toll drone pilots endure as they are forced to witness the aftermath of their fight against insurgents.

good kill review

RRP: $29.95     Rated: M     Released: December 2015

American Ultra Review

American Ultra review

American Ultra is one of those movies that you want to keep watching just to see what happens. While the movie itself wasn’t amazing, it definitely wasn’t bad. I found it to be quite funny and would watch again! It is about a stoner who unbeknownst to him is actually a government agent trained to be a killing machine; labelled a liability, he has been targeted and they want him dead. Unfortunately for them, he is too well trained (and too high to comprehend what is going on) that the CIA are finding it hard to kill him.

Roadshow synopsis: Small-town stoner Mike Howell (Jesse Eisenberg) spends most of his time getting high and writing a graphic novel. What Mike doesn’t know is that he was trained by the CIA to be a lethal killing machine. When the agency targets him for termination, his former handler activates his latent skills, turning the mild-mannered slacker into a deadly weapon. Now, the utterly surprised Mike must use his new found abilities to save himself and his girlfriend from getting smoked.

american ultra review

RRP: $39.95     Rated: MA15+     Released: 6th January 2016

Win | giveaways | prizes | All Mum Said

Prize Includes: 1x Good Kill DVD. RRP $29.95.

good kill review

**As the winners are chosen based on skill and not chance; you will be sharing for 0 extra entries however I’d love you to share the giveaway with friends and family. Sharing is caring and karma loves kind people. **

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Terms & Conditions: 
1. Australian residents only.
2. Judges decisions is final.
3. Winners must make contact within 72 hours.
4. This is a game of skill. Chance plays no part!
Therefore no extra points are given for sharing however it is good karma!!
5. All Mum Said is not responsible for delivery of prize.
6. All entries will be signed up to our newsletter, if you do not wish to sign up to our newsletter please advise us via email.
NOT endorsed by or have anything to do with facebook.

If you want to enter more giveaways click over here.

Disclosure: I received a copy of these dvds for the purpose of this review. All opinions are my own.

All Mum Said
Get Social
SHARE THIS ARTICLE

50 Comments

  1. SCOTT BRUNSKILL
    26/01/2016 / 7:07 pm

    “Life is a box of chocolates, Forrest. You never know what you’re gonna get.” ….Mrs Gump/Sally Field in Forrest Gump

  2. 27/01/2016 / 12:09 am

    This looks like a real.action movie ,just what we like

  3. Paula harris
    27/01/2016 / 8:40 am

    Rainman…..Qantas, always fly Qantas (and I do hehehe)

  4. Teresa Clark
    27/01/2016 / 10:22 am

    “Get busy living, or get busy dying.”
    (The Shawshank Redemption)

  5. Christina
    27/01/2016 / 1:30 pm

    Run Forrest Run!!

  6. Ashley Beech
    27/01/2016 / 2:01 pm

    “Walkin the mile….walkin the mile…walking the Green Mile…”
    The Green Mile
    Fantastic movie, makes me wonder what it would be like walking that path.

  7. Paul Smyth
    27/01/2016 / 2:06 pm

    Darryl Kerrigan(The Castle): Tell him he’s dreaming.

  8. 27/01/2016 / 3:24 pm

    Best movie quote, “No one puts Baby in a corner”, Dirty Dancing! Every wanna be dancer grew up wanting to be Baby! My DVD has a scratch for every year I watched it on loop!

  9. shadow88
    27/01/2016 / 4:06 pm

    Dear lord, make me a bird so i can fly far, far, far away from here – Forrest Gump, reciting this quote got me through 3 years of waitressing!

  10. Kirsten W
    27/01/2016 / 8:42 pm

    “Patrick, you’re a genius!” “Yeah, I get called that a lot.” “What? A genius?” “No, Patrick.”
    SPONGEBOB SQUAREPANTS

  11. Amanda
    28/01/2016 / 1:23 am

    OK so he might be a kids character but a favourite quote I repeatedly hear is from Buzz Lightyear……….”To infinity and beyond!”

  12. Natalie Murnane
    28/01/2016 / 9:01 am

    “May the Force be with you” It was said to many a friend before they did something we never thought they would make it through in one piece haha. My kids say mum how are you going to do that and I reply “The force is with me”… They have no idea what I’m on about!!

  13. Richard Harrison
    28/01/2016 / 11:59 am

    “Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn!” – Still gives me shivers

  14. Jessica Maloney
    28/01/2016 / 12:12 pm

    “I’m the best there is at what I do but what I do best isn’t very nice.” – Wolverine

  15. Ern
    28/01/2016 / 2:41 pm

    What have you done?! I’m BACKWARDS.

  16. Di
    28/01/2016 / 2:42 pm

    Tell me about it, Stud.
    (Grease)

  17. james pizzey
    28/01/2016 / 8:08 pm

    (That Will Be The Day ) from the greatest western ever made John Fords The Searchers John Wayne character must say it about dozen times in this classic movie

  18. Kelly-Marie
    29/01/2016 / 7:05 am

    Shiny. Let’s be bad guys. (Jayne Cobb from Serenity)

  19. ross powell
    29/01/2016 / 8:21 am

    fasten your seatbelts it’s gonna be a bumpy ride, bette davis from all about eve, says it all in one acid line

  20. Mara
    29/01/2016 / 8:39 pm

    ‘Get busy living, or get busy dying’- Shawshank Redemption

  21. Sarah ellwood
    29/01/2016 / 9:00 pm

    “I’m the king of the world!” Jack, the Titanic. I love that scene. And I say it when I’m up high too.

  22. Ashleigh Emerson
    31/01/2016 / 1:15 pm

    “I’ll have what she’s having” (When Harry met Sally)

  23. Racheal M
    01/02/2016 / 12:13 am

    I always liked “You can’t handle the truth” from a Few Good Men

  24. Charlotte L.
    02/02/2016 / 12:15 am

    Love a good action flick and am an Arnold Schwarzenegger fan, “I’ll be Back!” – The Terminator.

  25. Maria
    04/02/2016 / 9:23 am

    “Oh Jerry, don’t let’s ask for the moon, we have the stars.” Bette Davis In “Now, Voyager”. In other words, be grateful for what you have.

  26. Mikaela C
    04/02/2016 / 9:39 am

    Peter Clemenza: “Leave the gun. Take the cannoli”. From The Godfather!

  27. Sharon M
    04/02/2016 / 11:36 pm

    Darryl Kerrigan – The Castle : “Tell him he’s dreamin”. The answer to someone advertising something at a high price!!!!!!!!!

    We use this quote in everyday life, it never fails to amuse us. A great Aussie classic 🙂

  28. Amanda S
    06/02/2016 / 3:04 am

    “I’ll tell you what he said. He asked me to forcibly insert the Life Line exercise card into my ….”

    (I’m not going to write the last word, but you get the drift, Donnie Darko)

  29. Tess Howard
    06/02/2016 / 8:27 pm

    This is going straight to the pool room!

  30. 08/02/2016 / 11:06 am

    My favourite movie quote is Yyippee ki yay mother from Die Hard. 🙂

  31. Sharon Markwell
    08/02/2016 / 11:40 am

    My momma always said, “Life was like a box of chocolates. You never know what you’re gonna get.” (from Forrest Gump)…SO true.

  32. Clare De Celis
    08/02/2016 / 6:04 pm

    Letting go is the hardest thing to do as a
    parent. You have to settle with the past, engage in the
    present and believe in the future.

    Cheaper by the dozen 2! Love this quote.

  33. Elisabeth Martins
    08/02/2016 / 7:27 pm

    “Ill be back” is the most iconic quote for me and can be used with nearly anything.

  34. Gillian Harridge
    10/02/2016 / 1:41 pm

    Tomorrow’s another day.

  35. Angela Orlick
    11/02/2016 / 3:04 pm

    Referring to a line from Julius Caesar recited by Senator McCarthy: Had Senator McCarthy looked just three lines earlier he would have found this: “The fault dear Brutus, is not in our stars but in ourselves…”

  36. rachel s
    11/02/2016 / 9:41 pm

    life is like a box of chocolates…. ya never know what youl get.. love forrest gump

  37. Mick G
    11/02/2016 / 10:10 pm

    From The Godfather – “Leave the gun. Take the cannoli.” sums it all up beautifully and with true class

  38. Phillip Cunningham
    12/02/2016 / 7:22 am

    I’ll be back as said by Arnold Schwarzenegger as he always was true to his word

  39. Tamara Lamb
    12/02/2016 / 8:03 pm

    Frankly Dear. I don’t give a damn *swoon*

  40. Kelly Ryan
    13/02/2016 / 6:46 pm

    “What we do in life echoes in eternity.”
    Gladiator

  41. Renee
    14/02/2016 / 2:15 pm

    I’ll be back as it says it all and can be used in many a conversation

  42. Noeleen McRae
    14/02/2016 / 2:19 pm

    Humphrey Bogart’s “Here’s looking at you, kid” in Casablanca to me is the most memorable movie quote ever

  43. Roberto Colombi
    14/02/2016 / 6:51 pm

    I’ve seen things you people wouldn’t believe. Attack ships on fire off the shoulder of Orion. I watched C-beams glitter in the dark near the Tannhauser gate. All those moments will be lost in time… like tears in rain… Time to die

    Blade Runner

    Pure classic

  44. Eva Kiraly
    14/02/2016 / 9:37 pm

    “Can you fly this plane and land it?”
    – “Surely you can’t be serious.”
    – “I am serious. And don’t call me Shirley.”

  45. caterina ielasi
    15/02/2016 / 12:58 am

    Awesome. An action packed movie to add to my favourite genre.
    Thanks for the chance

  46. Kate Hardman
    15/02/2016 / 2:45 pm

    Yay I’m a llama again! – The Emporers New Groove

  47. melanie whittle
    15/02/2016 / 5:02 pm

    “Life moves pretty fast if you dont stop and look around once in a while you could miss it” Ferris Buellers Day Off

  48. Laura Scriven
    15/02/2016 / 8:21 pm

    “Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn!”
    Rhett Butler/Clark Gable in Gone with the Wind (1939)

  49. Sarah Gifford
    15/02/2016 / 10:08 pm

    ‘I do not regret the things I’ve done, but those I did not do’ – Empire Records

  50. Michelle W
    15/02/2016 / 10:35 pm

    So many from Casablanca, but my favourite is: “Of all the gin joints, in all the towns, in all the world, she walks into mine…”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.