Home » Reviews » For Toddlers » Britax Safe-n-Sound Slimm-Line AHR Review + Giveaway

Britax Safe-n-Sound Slimm-Line AHR Review + Giveaway

Don’t wait for the worst to happen before taking car seat safety seriously. Read this and make the right choice the first time!

Car safety is continually improving and car seat manufacturers like Britax are doing a great job of combining new technology with the same great quality you have come to expect. See the latest addition to the Safe-N-Sound range below:

Britax Safe-n-Sound Slimm-Line AHR

Britax Safe-n-Sound Slimm-Line AHR Review

I have used Britax branded car seats off and on since having my first child and they have done nothing but impress me. From comfort to safety, they know what they are doing. I have been fortunate enough to never have been involved in a car accident but I have trust in the car seats we use that should it occur, they will have the best protection available to them.

Britax Safe-n-Sound Slimm-Line AHR

What I love about it

As you know, we welcomed our 4th child to the family a few weeks ago. Yes our 4th! This means not only did we need a new car seat, we also required a larger car to cater to our growing family. Our new car has enough seats to fit all the kids in but there is not a great deal of space left when there are 2 car seats in the back and a child needing to sit in between them. This is why we first looked at the Britax Safe-n-Sound Slimm-Line AHR.

Britax Safe-n-Sound Slimm-Line AHR
Narrow – It is narrow in comparison to other seats on the market making it ideal for families like ours or those with small cars.

ISOFIX – The Slimm-Line allows for easy ISOFIX installation, it is just one of the added safety benefits this seat has to offer. For more information on child restraints in cars click here.

Comfort – Even though it is narrower than other car seats, it doesn’t lose any comfort! This is so important, especially when taking long trips in the car. The Thermo5 fabric is one of Britax’s newest revolutions. It is a bamboo fabric that is soft and smooth on skin, knitted with airflow and is perfect for children of all ages.

Convertible car seat – I love that this seat can be used from birth to 4 yrs. It saves parents money without the concern they have to compromise on safety. This particular seat allows your child to be rear facing for longer (from birth to 2-3 years) and forward facing from 12 months to 4 years.

Head protection – In the event of a side impact crash, the Active Head Restraint (AHR) will provide additional protection for your child. You can never be too safe!

Easy to use harness – Like previous models, the Slimm-Line features the harness holder. Its technical name but is Ez-Buckle System, it is basically the insert that surrounds the buckle and holds it out of the way when you are placing your child into the seat. Saves a lot of time trying to locate it under their backsides.

 

Britax Safe-n-Sound Slimm-Line AHR ISOFIX installed

**Please note that all pictures are taken on different angles to show you the seat in its entirety. As a result some pictures may appear to be reclined more than others, however seat is installed to required specifications.

 

Britax Safe-n-Sound Slimm-Line AHR installation

Specifications

• Suitable from birth to approx. 4 years.
• Weighs approx. 7.6kg.
Dimensions: Rearward facing – H: 680mm D: 525mm W: 440mm, Forward Facing Upright – H: 525mm D: 400mm W: 440mm, Forward Facing Reclined – H: 725mm D: 380mm W: 440mm.
The only thing this seat doesn’t have that I would have loved, is the buckle holders on the side like the Platinum SICT. Apart from that I cannot fault this seat at all.
The Britax Safe-n-Sound Slimm-Line AHR gives me peace of mind that I am providing my baby with the most protection possible each and every time we get into the car.Win | giveaways | prizes | All Mum Said

Prize includes: 1x Britax Safe-n-Sound Slimm-Line AHR. RRP $529.00

Britax Safe-n-Sound Slimm-Line AHR

**As the winners are chosen based on skill and not chance; you will be sharing for 0 extra entries however I’d love you to share the giveaway with friends and family. Sharing is caring and karma loves kind people. **

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Terms & Conditions: 
1. Australian residents only.
2. Judges decisions is final.
3. Winners must make contact within 72 hours.
4. This is a game of skill. Chance plays no part!
Therefore no extra points are given for sharing however it is good karma!!
5. All Mum Said is not responsible for delivery of prize.
NOT endorsed by or have anything to do with facebook.

If you want to enter more giveaways click over here.

Disclosure: I received the above product for the purpose of this review. All opinions are my own.

All Mum Said
Get Social
SHARE THIS ARTICLE

50 Comments

  1. Natalie Murnane
    24/12/2015 / 9:23 am

    It’s most important, it’s the bit that learns, the bit that eats, the bit that sees and hears and the bit I tell “I love you, you are my light and my hope and my heart” After a child without head protection and seeing his little uncontrolled head bob around and having to buy a head surround I love the Active Head Restraint. With our roads full of holes and rocky floodway crossings I will know she is safe from harm and snug in a Britax Safe-n-Sound Slim Line AHR.

  2. Nicole kent
    24/12/2015 / 10:15 am

    It is definitely the slimm line design that allows for an easy Isofix installation. Being tightly connected and keeping the car seat in place is the biggest safety feature for me. Having the car seat in place and my baby as safe as can be in case of an accident is very assuring for me!

  3. Teresa Clark
    24/12/2015 / 2:48 pm

    it needs to be a high rating safety car seat. it needs to be a snug fit and keep my son safe. it needs to be user friendly to put him in and out of.

  4. Ern
    24/12/2015 / 3:41 pm

    Drink holders……lol, no seriously it has to be a safe, secure, snug fit, that’s easy to get them in and out of, clasps that are fumble free.

  5. karina l
    24/12/2015 / 9:12 pm

    It needs to be of a reputable brand and of Australian standards!

  6. rachel s
    25/12/2015 / 12:19 pm

    it needs to meet australian standards, be stylish and comfortable and super safe!

  7. Natasha McDonald
    26/12/2015 / 5:55 pm

    The most important thing about driving with baby is to inshore that our babies are safe, you can’t always predict that accident whether its big or small and you mighten be able to avoid it, prevention and safety are two things that can you can do, you need the best of protection that you can get, its needs to be of Australian safety standard, it definitely needs to be comfortable, easy to get in and out of the car is a bonus, active head restraint is fabulous, using it until 4 years of age is great on the wallet, ez buckle system will be stress free, i know i can trust that in a Britax Safe-n-Sound Slim Line AHR will be doing all it can to support my child

  8. jody buhagiar
    26/12/2015 / 8:05 pm

    Active Head Restraint is the best
    Britax offering safety features I have to test.
    ISOFIX and easy to use harness,oh yes!
    My babys safety, Britax gives me no distress.
    From birth to 4 years. Its exceptional,
    For me! A mum whos fanatical.

  9. Kasey Evans
    27/12/2015 / 11:59 pm

    Head protection I must say………..
    Active Head Restraint (AHR) will provide additional protection incase of the unthinkable was to happen and also added comfort for my little one!

  10. sarah Ellwood
    28/12/2015 / 10:15 am

    Highly recommended. I love the power of word of mouth, and if friends/family or a trusted reputable source can provide me with info on a product I would be happy. Australia is great for having high safety standards so I feel pretty comfortable with the choices we have on offer.

  11. Veronica L
    28/12/2015 / 10:16 am

    I am another one for high safety ratings. When purchasing car seats for my sons, I have always researched their crash ratings & safety ratings. Britax always win hands down 🙂

  12. Sarah Fleming
    28/12/2015 / 1:37 pm

    The most important safety feature in a car seat for my precious children would have to be good head support and protection. I will only buy car seats with AHR head protection because otherwise their heads just look too exposed and vulnerable.

    When it comes down to it there really is nothing more important than keeping our children safe, so we should not be compromising on something as important as car seats.

  13. Belinda Mouk
    28/12/2015 / 7:25 pm

    The Active Head Restraint is an important safety feature in car seats. It gives extra peace of mind.

  14. cleo sids
    28/12/2015 / 10:43 pm

    Protection is important with the active head restraint providing added protection in the event of a side impact crash.

  15. Stacey Shailer
    28/12/2015 / 11:09 pm

    A well-fitting ISOFIX car seat with Active Head Restraint allows me peace of mind that my most precious cargo has maximum protection.

  16. 29/12/2015 / 4:20 am

    The slimmer design is great to fit into smaller cars, it could save having to buy a new car just to have it fitted, Also the safety side of a correctly fitted ISOFIX Car Seat is brilliant with the Active Head Restraint, which prevents a babies head being thrown around on impact, preventing severe head injuries. Britax has covered all safety aspects as well as maximum comfort. I also love that this seat is from Birth to 4 yrs. I feel Britax has really gone all out on designing a car seat with the optimum safety and comfort features. Well done Britax, you have a winner, and so will anyone that chooses this car seat for their Children.

  17. Kylie Travis
    01/01/2016 / 12:46 pm

    I look at safety ratings/reviews first as my children’s well being is my #1 priority when it comes to a car seat. We bought a Safe-n-Sound AHR (not a Slimm Line unfortunately!) for our first child and with another one soon on the way, I’d love that peace of mind with him/her too – and that extra bit of space in the car! 🙂

  18. Amanda S
    02/01/2016 / 8:57 am

    I look for a good safety rating, but also a seat that is going to be comfortable and simple to manage and fit. They only work if the child is not fighting to extract themselves from it and if it has been fitted correctly.

  19. Maria
    02/01/2016 / 9:33 am

    Meeting Australian standards is very important. Then, of course, it has to pass my standards.!

  20. Dannielle
    03/01/2016 / 4:46 pm

    Colours and fancy gadgets don’t cut it when it comes to the actual reason why we have car seats for our children – a car accident. I want to know that IF we are in a car accident, my child is safe n sound in their car seat. Britax has the the reputation and experience in providing the safety of the all important head protection whilst being practical for growing families!

  21. Paula Harris
    04/01/2016 / 8:54 am

    With 3 kids in the car, the narrow design is quite important so everyone is comfy (not just bubs while he reclines in the Thermo5 fabric) however the most important is the head protection (AHR) which gives me extra confidence should we ever be in a car accident. The harness is also an added extra, when bubs goes stiff with anger it can be quite frustrating trying to get him harnessed in quickly. Britax is definitely a brand I can truly rely on

  22. Amelia
    04/01/2016 / 5:40 pm

    All right stop, collaborate and listen
    Britax is back with a new seat invention
    Thermo5 fabric snuggles bub tightly
    But keeps her cool daily and nightly
    Padded protection? Head and torso
    ISOFIX install, and we go
    Gotta change the height? I adjust with a handle
    Twist and lift: so easy its a scandal

    Dense, the packed air cocoons
    While compact design makes it like a saferoom
    Messy? I pull the cover off merrily
    Anything spilled is quickly a memory
    Replacing the insert is like child’s play
    This seat hits the bull’s eye, my nerves aren’t frayed

    But if there’s one must-have feature, I’ll involve it
    I want that retractable stabilisng bar so my baby can’t revolve it.

    Word to your mother 😉

    • 27/01/2016 / 11:18 pm

      CONGRATS!! You have won. Check your email.

  23. Malena Gangou
    05/01/2016 / 10:19 pm

    The Active Head Restraint is a must, great to know I don’t have a human baby bobble head in back seat, bouncing here, there and everywhere. Everything is safe, snug and secure…every mums dream

  24. Phillip Cunningham
    06/01/2016 / 2:20 pm

    It’s the clip at the end of the strap that secures the car seat to the car as without a strong clip danger can strike if it comes undone in an accident.

  25. Samantha Allen-Stephens
    06/01/2016 / 10:21 pm

    A safe and durable harness is the most important feature of a car seat.
    My son is a little houdini so this is a MUST!

  26. Sarah
    08/01/2016 / 10:11 am

    Anti submarining is very important to me, I have seen what can happen if a little one car seat slides under the belt.

  27. SCOTT BRUNSKILL
    08/01/2016 / 9:59 pm

    Ease of access, comfort, slimline space saver and I really like the idea of the ISOFIX install and the head restraint….definitely great safety features in protecting the bub from all angles, especially negating the possibility of brain injury

  28. Lucia Saal
    10/01/2016 / 1:14 pm

    It must have a high safety rating and the slim design of this is great!

  29. Di
    10/01/2016 / 6:18 pm

    Definitely an active head restraint that provides added protection in the event of a side impact crash.

  30. Marita
    11/01/2016 / 12:21 pm

    My must have feature is definitely the ability to rear face as long as possible as it’s so much safer than forward facing for little people. ISOFIX is a pretty good second must have, though 😛

  31. Jane
    11/01/2016 / 3:32 pm

    My must have feature is good head protection. I work in a hospital and see just how serious head injuries can be. Good head protection provides peace of mind should we get into an accident, I want my baby to be as safe as possible.

  32. Kylie sneddon
    11/01/2016 / 3:53 pm

    Has to have a high safety rating, be able to be rear facing for as long as possible.

  33. Rory James
    11/01/2016 / 5:25 pm

    I want my baby to be rear facing for as long as possible as its safer for them and also have good protection for their heads

  34. Lyn S
    11/01/2016 / 7:17 pm

    Active Head Restraint is ideal,
    For when I’m behind the wheel,
    It’s protects my bubbas head,
    As it’s snuggly secure instead,
    No fears of a sudden pothole,
    For Britax safety is in control!

  35. Zoe Ryan
    12/01/2016 / 6:50 pm

    Head/neck support, hate seeing baby’s heads bobbling around! Baby has to feel comfy too. 🙂

  36. Eva Kiraly
    12/01/2016 / 11:32 pm

    The air bags! Even though I’ve never had to use them yet I feel much more comfortable knowing theyre there!

  37. Renee
    13/01/2016 / 10:02 am

    the high safety rating for sure so I am confident that it is an all round great choice for bub

  38. Lidia Risicato
    14/01/2016 / 2:15 pm

    I want to have the most reliable safety gear for my child, for me britax ticks all the right boxes! It suits my small car with the added benefits of Isofix attachments, it will keep my baby safe and keep my mind at ease.

  39. Natalie Birt
    14/01/2016 / 2:54 pm

    Ease of use means the seat will be used correctly! The Isofix system and the harness ensure a safe fit – first time, every time!

  40. Rebekah Ballingall
    14/01/2016 / 5:23 pm

    The harness has to be Houdini proof so that even the sharpest toddler can’t escape, increasing safety and comfort

  41. Kim
    14/01/2016 / 6:53 pm

    The seat needs to have high exit markers, so that children can remain in the safest travelling conditions for the longest amount of time.

  42. 14/01/2016 / 8:01 pm

    Safety First, meeting Australian Standards is a necessity, none of those tags to say they do and they dont, looks and style also Rate highly with this Grandfather

  43. Patricia Vee
    14/01/2016 / 8:01 pm

    Our family’s must-have safety feature in a car seat is that it is a compact design so that it fits in the car and isn’t too close to the other car seats our other children are in in the car. This is definitely an important safety feature because we have approximately half a dozen children (yes, really!) and if they’re not separated from each other by slim and compact seats then they’re not going to be safe from my ire when they’re reaching out and touching and poking each other. Those few cm of space in a slim-line seat such as this one make all the difference to everyone’s happiness when we travel in the car.

  44. Lauren
    14/01/2016 / 9:13 pm

    Fantastic! Sooo great that it allows extended rear facing! Would love this for my little ones! 🙂

  45. Caitlyn
    14/01/2016 / 9:21 pm

    A car seat is only as good as its owner
    Or calling it ‘safe’ can be a misnomer
    Installation with ISOFIX can be essential
    As is good head support- Britex seats have that potential
    But the most important safety feature
    To hold on tight to your most precious creature
    Is to follow the harness safety trick;
    “Do it up, and make it click”

  46. Natasha Dean
    14/01/2016 / 9:35 pm

    The most important part to me is the valuable cargo the Slimm Line preserves trip after trip. Keeping our son rear facing as long as possible is my highest priority and the Slimm Line caters to to my needs. A4 car seats weren’t around when we bought our car seat and our little guy is rapidly approaching those dreaded forward facing markers. The fact that children’s bones don’t ossify for several years after birth is something that needs to be vocalised more than it has been, especially when it comes to the minimum legal requirements for forward facing.

  47. Caitlyn
    14/01/2016 / 11:01 pm

    *Britax Sorry for the typo ?

  48. Michelle
    14/01/2016 / 11:36 pm

    Meets all the Australian standards

  49. Kara N
    14/01/2016 / 11:57 pm

    My ‘must have’ Safety feature,
    For my tiny little creature,
    Is rearward facing installation,
    Until his 2nd birthday celebration!
    Why you ask?
    Well that’s an easy task.
    It protects the spinal cord,
    So come and hop aboard,
    The Britax train,
    And support their safety campaign!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.