Home » Giveaways » Goosebumps Review – Is It As Good As The Books?

Goosebumps Review – Is It As Good As The Books?

Goosebumps Review – Is It As Good As The Books?

I remember reading the Goosebumps books as a kid and wondered how they could possibly turn it into a movie. Well they did it!

Was it as good as the series? Hmm kind of.

goosebumps dvd

Goosebumps books VS the movie

I say kind of because when I was a kid the Goosebumps books were amazing; you were given choices to take the story in different directions. You ultimately chose how the story ended. Then once you had finished you would go back and read the alternative options and see how different the story would go. Unfortunately the new Goosebumps books that my kids read lack this option. They are just a straight up chapter book. While they aren’t bad, they aren’t anywhere near as awesome as they once were. So when comparing the movie to the new-age series, it is smack bang on. The kids love it!

goosebumps dvd

I should mention though that my kids are not typically scared easily and this one gave my 7 year old nightmares. I personally would not have thought it would but perhaps it would be an idea for them to watch it during the day instead of at night.

Roadshow synopsis

Upset about moving from a big city to a small town, teenager Zach Cooper (Dylan Minnette) finds a silver lining when he meets the beautiful girl, Hannah (Odeya Rush), living right next door. But every silver lining has a cloud, and Zach’s comes when he learns that Hannah has a mysterious dad who is revealed to be R. L. Stine (Jack Black), the author of the bestselling Goosebumps series.

goosebumps dvd

It turns out that there is a reason why Stine is so strange- He is a prisoner of his own imagination – the monsters that his books made famous are real, and Stine protects his readers by keeping them locked up in their books. When Zach unintentionally unleashes the monsters from their manuscripts and they begin to terrorise the town, it’s suddenly up to Stine, Zach, and Hannah to get all of them back in the books where they belong.

RRP: $39.95        Rated: PG

Win | giveaways | prizes | All Mum Said

Prize includes: 1x Goosebumps DVD. RRP $39.95.

Goosebumps movie

**As the winners are chosen based on skill and not chance; you will be sharing for 0 extra entries however I’d love you to share the giveaway with friends and family. Sharing is caring and karma loves kind people. **

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Terms & Conditions: 
1. Australian residents only.
2. Judges decisions is final.
3. Winners must make contact within 72 hours.
4. This is a game of skill. Chance plays no part!
Therefore no extra points are given for sharing however it is good karma!!
5. All Mum Said is not responsible for delivery of prize.
6. All entries will be signed up to our newsletter, if you do not wish to sign up to our newsletter please advise us via email.
NOT endorsed by or have anything to do with facebook.

If you want to enter more giveaways click over here.

Disclosure: I received a copy of the Goosebumps DVD for the purpose of this review. All opinions are my own.

 

All Mum Said
Get Social
SHARE THIS ARTICLE

49 Comments

  1. Sarah
    25/06/2016 / 6:45 pm

    I absolutely loved both ‘Bridget Jones Diary’ as a book, I laughed my whole way through it….and then of course laughed my whole way through the movie too! Can’t wait for the new sequel to come out!

  2. Jenny Learmond
    26/06/2016 / 5:31 pm

    I loved reading GONE WITH THE WIND when I was a teenager and then I saw it for the the time in my early 20’s and thought it was just as wonderful.

  3. Aaron Kaczmarczyk
    26/06/2016 / 7:02 pm

    Jurassic Park, perfect book turned into an even better action packed amazing movie!

  4. Di
    26/06/2016 / 9:01 pm

    ‘His Dark Materials’ Trilogy, brilliant books with such potential to be visually spectacular blockbusters. Shame the first film installment (the Golden Compass) flopped………guess that’s what happens when they stray from the written word, omitting crucial parts of the story, changing other bits for whatever reason they deem appropriate.

  5. james pizzey
    26/06/2016 / 9:24 pm

    byrce courtanay book power of one this had to be made

  6. Paula h
    27/06/2016 / 7:17 am

    Definitely Harry Potter!!

  7. Kasey Evans
    28/06/2016 / 3:32 pm

    Charlie And The Chocolate Factory, my all time favourite kids movie. A kids fantasy that would be amazing if it were real.

  8. jane gardam
    28/06/2016 / 6:56 pm

    Can’t go past the Harry Potter Books, they have been made into excellent movies . Both books and movies have been and will continue to be loved by young and old.

  9. Charlotte L
    28/06/2016 / 11:59 pm

    The Lord of the Rings Trilogy! Great story, interesting characters and amazing special effects!

  10. Kate Slack
    29/06/2016 / 9:54 pm

    Matilda, loved the book, loved the movie nearly as much!

  11. claire evans
    30/06/2016 / 7:33 am

    The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe (Chronicles of Narnia, #1) I loved this book as a kid and would read it in my closet hoping id go to Narnia

  12. cheryl mckibbin
    02/07/2016 / 10:18 am

    Charlie and the Chocolate Factory – my school librarian read it to us every friday when i was young….loved the movie adaption as an adult and now enjoy both with my own children

  13. nicole larsen
    02/07/2016 / 12:13 pm

    harry potter everytime

  14. Ashley Beech
    02/07/2016 / 1:32 pm

    Anne of Green Gables,
    although I would love to see them
    do a remake!

  15. Rosemarie De Bari
    02/07/2016 / 2:16 pm

    The Neverending Story. One of my all time favourites (even if the author hated how they changed the book for the screen!).

  16. Melissa D
    02/07/2016 / 3:13 pm

    Definitely Anne of Green Gables. Would watch it everyday if I had the chance!

  17. Rebecca B
    03/07/2016 / 9:15 am

    I love Gone with the Wind both book and film equally! It was a if Clark Gable was born to play Rhett. If you ask my kids the would say Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. The like both the old and new film versions but the old wins!

  18. sarahMary
    03/07/2016 / 2:10 pm

    The Lovely Bones. The actors really made the characters come alive, and the film stayed close to the books storyline. It was as moving watching it as it was reading the book.

  19. Teresa Clark
    04/07/2016 / 11:28 am

    The Harry potter books, i love them and i really enjoy the movies too.

  20. Ern
    05/07/2016 / 8:17 pm

    ‘Where did I come from?’ & ‘What’s happening to me?’ – these books, as serious and educational as they are, made for the funniest ‘informative’ films I have ever seen. The boy on the diving board bit, cracks my wife up every time she see’s it. Yes childish I know, but amusing all the same 🙂

  21. Lisa
    06/07/2016 / 7:07 am

    The Harry Potter series, it was great to see the characters and Hogwarts come to life and how the movies matured with the audience.

  22. Rebecca H
    06/07/2016 / 11:41 am

    “Little Women” is an all time classic. A brilliant read and a great movie too.

  23. Elisabeth Martins
    10/07/2016 / 12:11 am

    Such a hard question. I really enjoyed The Notebook. Great read turned into a GREAT movie for most women out there 😛

  24. Wendy S
    10/07/2016 / 1:27 pm

    Inkheart, it’s not often I like movies made from books but Inkheart is just perfect!

  25. ashna kenyon
    10/07/2016 / 1:54 pm

    Gone with the wind is my favourite book turned into a movie.

  26. Sharon M
    10/07/2016 / 4:01 pm

    Christine – Stephen King, oh and Misery – Stephen King and let’s not forget The Mist – Stephen King, okay I love all movies that have been made from Stephen King novels, they are always so spine tingling!!!!! 🙂

  27. M Cowan
    10/07/2016 / 7:31 pm

    Charlie and the Chocolate Factory brought all my dreams to life!

  28. Neil stehr
    12/07/2016 / 3:29 pm

    The Martian, one of the few where the movie was as good as the book.

  29. Shannon Wotton
    12/07/2016 / 4:39 pm

    Harry Potter! The books were truly magical and the movies absolutely did justice to the magic of the books.

  30. Sharon Markwell
    13/07/2016 / 11:11 am

    Alice in Wonderland is always fun and a joy to watch in any of its movie forms. It is also our favourite bedtime story.

  31. Leanne white
    13/07/2016 / 1:20 pm

    I’m going to say 50 shades of grey for obviously reasons…not sure I enjoyed the movie as much as the book though!

  32. Rebecca Costa
    14/07/2016 / 1:32 am

    Lord of the Rings!! It showcases beautiful New Zealand and who doesnt want see Frodo Baggins Journey to save the world on the big screen!!

  33. Caroline Lissaman
    14/07/2016 / 2:19 pm

    Chronicles of Narnia. Lion, Witch and the Wardrobe. Captivating read but spine tingling magic viewed on a big screen.

  34. Amanda
    15/07/2016 / 12:39 pm

    Although as a child I believed in magic it wasn’t until Matilda was bought to life that I saw magic!

  35. Helen
    16/07/2016 / 9:26 pm

    HARRY POTTER gets my vote although I did imagine Hagrid a bigger!

  36. rachel sinclair
    17/07/2016 / 8:49 am

    matilda was the magic of my childhood

  37. cher glass
    17/07/2016 / 2:08 pm

    Roald Dahl’s The Witches, the way he bought those witches to life was wickedly scary for a small child but so fun to read and for weeks afterwards I really looked out to see if I could find one in my grandma’s friends.

  38. Gary Wood
    17/07/2016 / 4:33 pm

    My daughter absolutely LOVES Goosebumps!

  39. Renee
    19/07/2016 / 12:07 pm

    Flowers in the Attic

  40. Melissa Edwards
    19/07/2016 / 5:58 pm

    Harry Potter for sure! I was sceptical about the movies after reading the books, but they captured the magical essence for all the characters and the sets were amazing!

  41. Amanda S
    20/07/2016 / 12:12 am

    Another vote for ‘Little Women’ for me. It was my favourite book and I loved the 1949 movie.

  42. Cathy Bowdler
    20/07/2016 / 9:02 am

    My favourite is a series of novels and film,
    that took my non-reading son into another realm.
    The fabulous Harry Potter books…
    encouraged my dyslexic son through tears and the sooks.
    I read the first few chapters to him and sis’,
    then helped and encourage…wasn’t shear bliss!
    By the end of the Philosophers Stone he was hooked,
    Eventually he became fully booked.

  43. ange
    20/07/2016 / 10:50 am

    The Hobbit – loved the dragon scenes

  44. Julia Mason
    20/07/2016 / 11:11 am

    Definitely Gone Girl, it was great to have a visual understanding of each Characters craziness!

  45. Sheena Grey
    20/07/2016 / 4:29 pm

    The Outsiders!

  46. julie ford
    20/07/2016 / 6:44 pm

    Goosebumps I loved loved loved reading the books as a young child and now to see it on big screen again is a dream come true and want my kids to enjoy it like I did.

  47. Nicole Walton
    20/07/2016 / 9:04 pm

    Flowers In The Attic. Loved the book and loved the movie!

  48. 20/07/2016 / 9:50 pm

    Harry potters enjoyed both books and movies which is odd for me!

  49. Kristina S
    20/07/2016 / 9:58 pm

    The Lorax. Loved it, felt it had such good and relevant messages for today. Unless.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.