Home » Reviews » Home Goods » Oricom Non-Contact Thermometer Review + GIVEAWAY

Oricom Non-Contact Thermometer Review + GIVEAWAY

Every parent knows the difficulties you can experience when your child is sick. They either want to cling to you and not let go; not allowing for toilet breaks, food, basically space of any kind. Or not want anyone to touch them at all. Both of these can make it hard when you need to take their temperature especially if they are young.

Oricom non-contact thermometer

I cannot speak for every child but I can say that 2 of mine never stayed still long enough to get an accurate reading from the underarm or oral thermometers. They would get frustrated and pull it out. Now that they are older they understand the importance however I’m sure Poppet (almost 2 years old) is going to go through the same “don’t touch me – why aren’t you holding me – I said don’t touch me – I want cuddles” phase her brothers did. Which is why I am welcoming the Oricom non-contact thermometer into my home with open arms (wide open arms!).

Oricom Non-Contact Thermometer

The Oricom FS300 aka Oricom Non-Contact Infrared digital Thermometer is so great that it is hard to express in words its magic. I would go as far as saying it is the best digital thermometer on the market! I absolutely love this thermometer because as the name suggests it requires no contact. But better than that; it is fast. It takes less than 2 seconds to give you an accurate reading. Oricom recommends that you test on the forehead (temple) or behind the earlobe at 2-3cm away for a reliable reading. This thermometer is extremely versatile for general use as it allows measurements including body, room and surface temperature.

Oricom non-contact thermometer

The Oricom non-contact thermometer is smaller than I expected but the size is perfect, not too big and not too small. It is an ideal pocket size that you can take it just about anywhere with you.

Oricom non-contact thermometer

I absolutely love how easy it is to use. You can set it have a quiet beep when measurement is taken or make it silent. It stores the last 32 measurements for your convenience and it is as simple as pushing the start button to get the temperature of your child. It really couldn’t be more easy. The large backlit LCD display allows for easy viewing day or night. Oricom non-contact thermometer

Due to the fact it requires no contact, it is hygienic and eliminates risk of virus transfer. This is a huge selling point for me as I don’t want bugs and illnesses being passed to everyone in the family. The thermometer requires only 2x AAA batteries and as I have come to expect from Oricom, it comes with a 12 month warranty for the unlikely event you have any issues with it. Visit the Oricom website for more information on the Oricom non-contact thermometer.

Win

Prize Includes: 1x Oricom FS300 Non-Contact Infrared Thermometer. RRP $99.95.

Oricom non-contact thermometer

**As the winners are chosen based on skill and not chance; you will be sharing for 0 extra entries however I’d love you to share the giveaway with friends and family. Sharing is caring and karma loves kind people. **

a Rafflecopter giveaway

If you want to enter more giveaways click over here.

Terms & Conditions: 
1. Australian residents only.
2. Judges decisions is final
3. Winners must make contact within 72 hours.
4. This is a game of skill. Chance plays no part!
Therefore no extra points are given for sharing however it is good karma!!
5. All Mum Said is not responsible for delivery of prize.
NOT endorsed by or have anything to do with facebook.

Disclosure: I received the above product for the purpose of this review. All opinions are my own.

All Mum Said
Get Social
SHARE THIS ARTICLE

57 Comments

  1. Michelle Harrison
    09/03/2015 / 3:23 pm

    I hate having a sick baby and not being able to get an accurate temperature, winning this would help me and my babies

  2. Mandy Graham
    09/03/2015 / 3:39 pm

    Getting the call from my kids school that my son is sick.

  3. Joanne Cardamone
    09/03/2015 / 4:19 pm

    Once when my toddler had a high temperature she was hallucinating and was so scary to watch her reel in terror from us when we tried to help her

  4. Bronya
    09/03/2015 / 5:11 pm

    with 5 kids we get all the bugs all the time!! This would be great!

  5. 09/03/2015 / 5:29 pm

    With four kiddies this would come in handy, especially in winter when they bring home all those bugs from school.

  6. Kathy Bowdlert
    10/03/2015 / 9:20 am

    When youngest son had a high temperature and during the night he had a febrile convulsion, it scared the living daylights out of me.

  7. Diana O
    10/03/2015 / 4:04 pm

    I want to win this because for such a strong woman, when it comes to shaking the thermometer back to zero I’m as weak as they come. Or lack that flick in the wrist, having to wait for hubby to come home and shake it down for me.

  8. Teena Lewis
    10/03/2015 / 5:29 pm

    Would be awesome to just get it done, rather than trying to get a sick bubba to sit still (and they always move, so takes a couple of goes to get it accurate)!

  9. Kasey Evans
    10/03/2015 / 5:34 pm

    Having three children it’s important when they have a fever to watch their temperatures, this thermometer will be fantastic to get an accurate reading!

  10. Christy van Heerden
    10/03/2015 / 10:33 pm

    We had the dreaded 2am trip to the emergency room with a feverish, vomiting toddler. After a short wait we saw a nurse, and, you guessed it – he was much better and thought it was a great adventure, laughing and playing with the nurse! Relieved he was okay, we didn’t even mind too much when he woke at 2am again the next night expecting another ‘fun’ outing!

  11. Rachel K
    11/03/2015 / 12:51 am

    I’d love to win this because it would finally put an end to one of my husband’s bad jokes. He produces a coin and flips it saying, ” Heads or tails! Tails it is. OK, that’s how we’ll take your temperature.”

  12. Tina Clausen
    11/03/2015 / 7:00 pm

    My 3 year old niece was rushed into intensive care as a baby with an extremely high temperature after a bad cold. My brother in law had been looking after her when my sister was away for just a few hours. He didn’t realise how dangerous a high spike in temperature can be for the little ones. Luckily she was okay and no lasting damage. They now have a new little girl a few months old and this top quality Thermometer would be perfect for giving my brother in law piece of mind. I think he still has nightmares about what could have happened.

  13. Tamara Lamb
    12/03/2015 / 3:44 pm

    I need to win this for a reliable, non intrusive way of reading my child’s fever. I can’t get him to sit still long enough for usual methods!

  14. Lydia Rofe
    13/03/2015 / 10:21 pm

    Well, there is nothing worse than having a baby post vaccines and a husband post wisdom teeth extraction and a terrible underarm thermometer that clearly doesn’t give good readings even when the patient isn’t wiggling and squirming because they didn’t like the thermometer under their arm. How do nurses use them in hospitals? . I would love this to make temperature taking not add to the pain of colds and flu’s for my family. Lydia Arundell

  15. Kylie T
    15/03/2015 / 10:34 pm

    My daughter had her 18mth immunisations on Friday and she screamed the place down over the nurse just trying to check her temp with an ear thermometer! :\

    I just have an old school under the arm one which takes a minute or two to get a reading – Do you think you I can keep her still for that long? It’s really a battle! Even if I do get to the reading, I end up worried that it wasn’t taken correctly (because of Miss Wrigglepot) and my reading is wrong anyway…

    It’s great that you can easily get a reading with these new “no touch” thermometers, even while they’re sleeping (and still lol) so without waking them too. It would sure make my life easier and less worrisome when my daughter is sick.

  16. cleo sids
    16/03/2015 / 10:23 am

    Would love to win to finally get an accurate reading would be great.

  17. Karen Mashford
    17/03/2015 / 7:43 pm

    With such a rapid read time, this would be easy and convenient and make life a lot easier.

  18. 18/03/2015 / 11:40 am

    My girl hates those under the arm thermometers. There is nothing worse when your baby has a cold than to strip them off so you can take there temperature under their arm! Surely that only adds to their sickness! That Oricom Non-Contact Thermometer looks like a great device for a no-fuss temperature reading!

  19. Carol Taylor
    18/03/2015 / 11:47 am

    Love the idea of the Oricom non-contact thermometer, this will certainly prevent germs being spread about unnecessarily! This way when the grandbabies have a fever or are unwell, I will be able to take accurate temperatures without waking them up or disturbing them. Small and compact too. it is ideal to pop into my handbag while we are out. Would definitely love to trial this wonderful innovative product!

  20. Melissa Jones
    18/03/2015 / 11:58 am

    I still had to pay the fees to the childcare even if my son couldn’t attend it because of serious fever. He was sick nearly once every two weeks. I was exhausted and decided to stop him going to the childcare. We can’t live without a thermometer. Non-Contact one should be the best because it’s safer and more convenient for us.

  21. Johanne sTONE
    18/03/2015 / 2:39 pm

    I contracted Gullian Barre Syndrome almost 2 1/2 years ago. To cut a very long story short – it is a Nerve condition which has resulted in me unable to feel anything but intense Pins and Needles and numbness in my hands and legs….I can’t put a hand on my 2 kids forehead etc..to see if they are hot, the normal thermometers are too Thin for me to grip. Being It just the kids and myself now, i have to rely on my neighbour or friends to check temperatures
    Would love that independance back and look after my kids and know when they are running as fever.

  22. 18/03/2015 / 3:45 pm

    Last year, our little one had a temp of 42 degrees… we called the ambulance! It was the first time I had ever been in one! Not as cosy as you think it is going to be!

  23. Kristy F
    19/03/2015 / 9:23 pm

    When my kids are sick they hate having to have the thermometer shoved under their arm to test their temp so this would be perfect in that it is non-contact and you can get an accurate temperature reading and you best of all you can test their temp while they are sleeping without having to wake them.

  24. Pamela Singleton
    21/03/2015 / 8:08 am

    Being sick is scary enough for babies and young children, so his thermometer would be fantastic to record their temp without causing any more unwanted fear or stress to them

  25. Ern
    21/03/2015 / 3:47 pm

    Be good to win so we’re told the exact temperature each and every time, not having to stare at the tiny lines that give an approximation.

  26. amanda giffard
    24/03/2015 / 7:35 pm

    My little girls are terrified of anything remotely medical looking, especially traditional thermometers! This would be great as I could make it a bit more bearable for them when they need their temperature taken as it is so quick and accurate, no need to triple check! Would be a great help!

  27. Arnoud T
    24/03/2015 / 7:41 pm

    Having 2 small kids who don’t sit still when you come near them this will be a great solution to get their temperature measured.

  28. Amy B
    25/03/2015 / 12:16 am

    When my husband gets sick.In his own words he is practically dying!This would be perfect to prove to him he’s well enough to work.

  29. Ke
    25/03/2015 / 11:19 am

    When I was a child, and down with the ‘flu, I stuck our old-fashioned mercury thermometer in my mouth – only to find out later it was the family’s rectal thermometer! Blech! I’d love to win this because having a non-contact thermometer might prevent my kids from having their mouths washed out with soap… for all the WRONG reasons!

  30. Lily
    25/03/2015 / 6:48 pm

    No more cold prods when you’re sick!

  31. Karly
    25/03/2015 / 10:26 pm

    I’d love to have one of these!! With 5 children aged between 1 and 10, temperatures are a regular problem in this house. Being able to reliably identify and monitor their temperatures would be a godsend!!!

  32. Sarah Homans
    25/03/2015 / 11:17 pm

    My son reacts really strongly if you try and check on him while he is sleeping. I couldn’t even get his Ventolin into him tonight because he kept fighting me. Trying to get a thermometer under his arm while he is unwell is almost impossible. I would love to be able to scan him quickly with out causing him more distress.

  33. Maria P
    26/03/2015 / 2:31 pm

    Forget sick kids! Men with the “man flu” will also surely benefit from this non intrusive, “see I told you so” thermometer.

  34. Jessica Ashbrooke
    26/03/2015 / 9:09 pm

    I’ve had to sleep in vomit and wore vomit and even the carpet had vomit we were all sick

  35. Michelle
    26/03/2015 / 10:28 pm

    I’d love to win this to keep an eye on my kids temperature while they sleep so not to wake them. It will also help when they do not want me to take their temperature.

  36. karren Reay
    27/03/2015 / 12:47 pm

    There’s no interupting the little one with infrared, aquick wave of the thermometer and little stays in bed.

  37. Heather w
    27/03/2015 / 1:34 pm

    I can never find the thermometer when the kids are ever sick.
    Searching cupboards is not ideal
    When I’m trying to be quick.
    I need a gadget that is accurate
    Easily used by myself.
    Then simply when not in use
    Sits comfortably on my shelf.

  38. Kerrie McDermid
    27/03/2015 / 7:04 pm

    There is absolutely nothing worse than a sick baby who is crying, has a fever and is generally grisly as they cant tell you where it hurts. You would do anything to take the pain away.

  39. Sue
    28/03/2015 / 6:56 pm

    It’s so frustrating to put the thermometer under my child’s arm, the poor thing is so sick and doesn’t want more discomfort and having to sit with it under their arm. We both end up in tears as we just want them better. Thank good for technology

  40. 28/03/2015 / 9:46 pm

    I would love to have this product as recently my child maryam was sick and my thermometer did not give the actual temperature reading it was supposed to and i thought she just was tired so a couple of days later when she didnt get better i took her to the docter and she had a flu, this is why i really think i need this as im scared i might make the same mistake again

  41. 29/03/2015 / 11:17 am

    He was hiding the fact he was sick and didnt want to miss school, when it become too much he was worse off

  42. Renee Ballantyne
    29/03/2015 / 11:51 am

    my new thermometer has leaked and changed my perception of the old ‘thermometers’ winning this would restore my confidence in taking my childrens temperatures safely and without worry

  43. JaniseR
    29/03/2015 / 6:30 pm

    Have 4 grandchildren that during winter pick up colds easily this Oricom Non contact Thermometer
    would keep parents less stressed during child’s illness.THANKYOU

  44. Kristy winters
    29/03/2015 / 8:17 pm

    I have four kids aged 16 – 9months old and have never seen these before what an awesome idea

  45. Wendy Traill
    29/03/2015 / 8:46 pm

    I need a thermometer that works! I’ve wasted too much money on ones that are unreliable. This Oricom one looks fantastic!

  46. Sharyn
    29/03/2015 / 9:44 pm

    Having a young son who has asthma has meant a few hospital visits – one visit to emergency last winter when he was sick, his asthma got better enough to let us go home, BUT he had a temperature so they would not let us leave emergency till he had some panadol – now both my children HATE medicine so whenever they have a temp it is very hard to get them to take anything (Which is why it is so important i have a great thermometer to keep an eye on their temp should it get too high ie. this one would be amazing as my children hate me sticking a thermometer in their ear every 30 mins or more lol) – anyway, he would not take the medicine in emergency (they did not force it down his throat like they did the time before as he vomited it all over them that time) and for 45 minutes i tried to coax/blackmail him to take it – i said to the nurse “what do you do when kids wont take this stuff” – she looked at me and said “kids always take it” (like it was my fault my child wont take the medicine – she has no idea how much drama my children caused me over the last 6 years as they wont take medicine to bring their temps down!!!!). Eventually one of the older nurses came in and said to me that even though the kitchen was closed, she was going to ring down and see if they could bring up some ice cream and jelly for him IF he took the medicine – well finally with that bribe we managed to get him to take some and he got his ice cream and jelly and we got to go home finally (wonder if he remembers this next time we have to go to emergency for his asthma when he is sick).

  47. Becky Downey
    29/03/2015 / 11:13 pm

    I never really trust the thermometers we have – they always seem a bit vague and going up and down even in the one place. Now with this I can now trust, even when the HEAT is on!

  48. Cate
    29/03/2015 / 11:21 pm

    I’ll never forget the day when we went on a day trip with his grandparents. My 2 year old son was singing and happily talking one minute and then slumped forward in his seat the next. It turned out he’d spiked a fever as his body’s way of fighting a virus. It was a very scary, memorable trip back to town, but one I’d rather forget!

  49. Karla Oleinikoff
    30/03/2015 / 12:33 am

    I have 2 nonverbal boys with ASD, who can’t tell me when they’re sick, so we have to go by body cues as to when they’re not well. They also will not tolerate having they’re temp taken, so we have to do the old back of the hand of the forehead trick to determine how hot they are. Not reliable at all! This would make our lives so much easier in helping our 2 munchkins feel better!

  50. Michelle Solomon
    30/03/2015 / 10:09 am

    I remember my middle daughter being so unwell that her eardrums ruptured without any sign of a problem beforehand. The only sign I had she was sick was her temperature as she didn’t pull her ears or cry, in fact, it was only once they ruptured and were bleeding that we knew. We couldn’t take her temp at the time as she wouldn’t let us use a thermometer on her and we later knew why. This Oricom Non-Contact Thermometer would of made this so much easier..

  51. Kelly Jones
    30/03/2015 / 11:42 am

    My daughter has a condition and she does not like to be touched, and trying to take her temperature when she gets sick is a nightmare. She suffers from regular UTI’s and quite often has temperatures that go along with them, and it is a challenging time for everyone

  52. Karly
    30/03/2015 / 1:21 pm

    Our son refuses to let anyone touch his feet or ears. It’s a quirk rather than anything else, but when he’s running a fever I pop an old fashioned thermometer under his arm – I love the idea of a contactless thermometer that can even take an accurate reading from the forehead. Brilliant invention for mums and dads everywhere!

  53. Alison
    30/03/2015 / 1:48 pm

    My six month old just loves to wriggle; he really won’t stay still!
    But when he can’t be coaxed to giggle, that’s when I know he’s ill.
    He’s my first, so I want to know if his temp is reading high –
    Should I to the doctor go? Or perhaps he’ll be all right?
    This handy gadget’s what I need, to help me get a measure;
    Fighting sickness with safety and speed, safe-guarding my little treasure.

  54. Amy Hucker
    30/03/2015 / 3:07 pm

    This would take the struggle out of getting an accurate reading.

  55. Vija Leitis
    30/03/2015 / 9:22 pm

    Its a great way to get a temperature without having to move and upset a sick child unnecessarily

  56. Joanne Kennedy
    30/03/2015 / 9:33 pm

    This digital Thermometer would be fabulous the hardest thing about bieng a new mum is the uncertainty. You question yourself at every turn, about every little thing. With this at hand at least you can be certain of accurate readings to act upon, which means some peace of mind.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.