Home » Lucky Dip » LeapFrog LeapStart 3D Review + Giveaway

LeapFrog LeapStart 3D Review + Giveaway

The LeapFrog LeapStart 3D Interactive Learning System is designed for children ages 2-7 years old and is perfect for encouraging interactive play.

If your child loves to read, write and play games, the LeapStart 3D will be right up their alley!

LeapFrog LeapStart 3D review and giveaway

LeapFrog LeapStart 3D review

I have been testing out the LeapFrog LeapStart 3D for a couple of weeks now with my two daughters, ages 5 (Haddie) and 3 (Audrey). Both of them are at different levels academically with Haddie in Kindergarten and knowing how to read basic words and write simple sentences. Audrey likes to listen to stories or make up her own. Even though the girls are at different stages, both of them enjoy the ‘magical screen’ aka pop-up holographic screen.

Continue reading to see our full LeapStart 3D review.

girl playing with LeapStart 3D Disney Princess book

What I really like about the LeapStart 3D is that it really is suitable for young ages. Audrey is more than capable of using this unassisted and understands some of the simpler interactive aspects of each book. Whereas older children (kindergarten and early primary school) can read the stories while also utilising the interactive features.

LeapStart 3D features

The use of LeapStart books allows children to see their favourite characters and objects come to life with amazing 3D-like holographic animations. But it also offers so much more than story time, here are some other LeapStart 3D features that your child might enjoy.

  • Stylus – the grow-with-me stylus is the perfect size for little hands. It helps to fine-tune gross motor skills by providing the correct grasp with little rubber pads for learning to write. In addition to assisting with pencil grip, the stylus can also read the dotted letters on pages to help children learn the correct sequence of strokes.
    For parents of younger children, the stylus is attached so it cannot be lost. LeapFrog have also thought about the position that the stylus is secured, it is attached in the centre so it is suitable for both left and right handed children.
  • 3D – the holographic screen is fantastic. Children can see their favourite characters come to life by touching different parts of the story with the stylus.
  • Volume – there is a volume button so you can increase or decrease to your preferred level. This is an important one for me and I’m sure many other parents.
  • Portable – the LeapStart 3D is lightweight (1.17kg) and portable. This folds shut with the stylus clipped inside and has a convenient carry handle for kids on the go.
  • Batteries – this only needs 2x AA batteries to run. We have been using this non-stop for a couple of weeks and the batteries show no signs of going flat just yet. The LeapStart 3D also turns itself off after 5 minutes so batteries won’t be drained when little ones forget to turn it off. *Batteries not included.
  • Activities – each book is packed with over 30 activities. This includes games, jokes and songs that come to life, enticing kids to trace numbers, hunt for letters, compose their own music, and undertake creative challenges, problem-solving puzzles, math mazes, and so much more.
  • Key concepts – in addition to the above activities each book also includes a comprehensive introduction to key concepts suitable to each learning level. These concepts help to teach kids over 50 key skills and seamlessly blends fun with skills, from problem solving to learning to read. Concepts include:

o             Reading Comprehension
o             Reading for Information
o             Reading Fluency
o             Phonics
o             Mathematical Reasoning
o             Problem Solving
o             Creative Expression
o             Visual Puzzles
o             Social Skills
o             Spelling

LeapFrog LeapStart 3D books

The LeapStart 3D interacts with all LeapStart books, but those that have new special 3D-like animation encoding will really pop off the page. There are currently 16 LeapStart 3D books available in the LeapFrog library. These are real ‘turn the pages’ books so you still encourage your child to nurture a love of reading. Each book covers different topics and skills while using popular characters to bring the story to life when used with the LeapStart 3D. The system comes with a Preschool and Pre-Kindergarten sampler book so you can try out the levels before purchasing the full activity books.

icons activities LeapStart 3D books

LeapStart 3D – Mickey and the Roadster Racers Pit Crews to the Rescue book

  • Suitable for: Preschoolers 2-5 years
  • Available from: Big W, Target
  • RRP $19.95
  • Pages: 35

LeapFrog LeapStart 3D Mickey and the Roadster Racers Pit Crews to the Rescue book

Join Mickey and his racing friends on their adventure in this LeapStart 3D book. With over 30 activities and 300 interactive touchpoints, kids will learn to identify the cause and effect of events in a story; understand and use adjectives to describe nouns; and explore elements that contribute to good teamwork.

Designed to explore the wonder of young children, they can touch the stylus on almost any part of any page and you can hear crowds roaring, engines revving and characters talking while watching the story come to life on the screen. By touching the words, children can learn individual words or if they would prefer to just listen to the story, by clicking the ‘book’ icon the story will be read for them so they can enjoy looking at the pictures.

child playing with LeapStart 3D

LeapStart 3D – Disney Princess Shine with Vocabulary book

  • Suitable for: Preschoolers 3-6 years
  • Available from: Big W, Target
  • RRP $19.95
  • Pages: 33

LeapFrog LeapStart 3D - Disney Princess Shine with Vocabulary book

Follow along with Cinderella, Belle and Jasmine as children learn vocabulary and communication skills on exciting adventures.  Join two words to form compound words; use verbs to describe action, and identify high-frequency sight words.

Perfect for princess loving pre-schoolers the activities in the LeapStart 3D book are suited to a range of learning levels. Some easier activities include matching opposites and sorting into categories. Whereas more advanced children will love the word searches. The activities are well explained and the book also offers more challenging activities as your child progresses.

LeapStart 3D – Disney Pixar Maths in Action

  • Suitable for: school age 4-7 years
  • Available from: Big W, Target
  • RRP $19.95
  • Pages: 33

LeapFrog LeapStart 3D - Disney Pixar Maths in Action

This book features Pixar favourites to introduce real-life maths and listening skills through exciting activities, games, puzzles and more. Create number sequences, identify shapes and symmetry, and interpret data in a graph or chart.

The Incredibles, Lightning McQueen along with Nemo and Dory help with addition and subtraction, compares times, counting, stats, sets and much more. This book is great for getting children thinking and putting maths into fun scenarios.


You might also enjoy: Free online maths games for kids.


girl holding LeapStart 3D

Enhance learning and get kids excited about everything from counting to reading through touch-and-talk games and 3D-like animations. If our LeapStart 3D review didn’t cover everything you need to know you can find further information on LeapFrog and its products by visiting www.leapfrog.com.au.



All Mum Said - Win Australian giveaways and free competitions

Prize includes: 1x LeapStart 3D Interactive Learning System (RRP $89.95), 1x LeapStart 3D Mickey & the Roadster Racers – Pit Crews to the Rescue book (RRP $19.95), 1x LeapStart 3D Disney Princess Shine with Vocabulary book (RRP $19.95), 1x LeapStart 3D Disney Pixar Pals Math in Action (RRP $19.95) Total prize RRP $149.80.

Win LeapFrog LeapStart 3D prize pack
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Terms & Conditions: 
1. Australian residents only.
2. Judges decisions are final.
3. Winners must make contact within 72 hours.
4. This is a game of skill. Chance plays no part!
Therefore no extra points are given for sharing however it is good karma!!
5. All Mum Said is not responsible for delivery of prize. 
6. All entries will be signed up to the All Mum Said newsletter list. If you do not wish to sign up for our newsletter please advise us via email.
NOT endorsed by or have anything to do with Facebook.


If you want to enter more giveaways click here.


AMS was gifted the above for the purpose of this review.
All opinions are our own.

All Mum Said
Get Social

All Mum Said

Connecting mums with real support, articles, giveaways, helpful advice & parenting tips.
All Mum Said
Get Social
SHARE THIS ARTICLE

68 Comments

  1. Renee Bolton
    10/11/2018 / 6:05 pm

    These look amazing, would really help my son.

  2. Mick Gillies
    10/11/2018 / 6:09 pm

    this would be the perfect way for little Charlie to begin his education and road to fun learning

  3. Tania Smolski
    10/11/2018 / 6:15 pm

    This would be AMAZING for my 3 yo who is currently learning to read. Perfect timing for Christmas too !! 🤞🤞

  4. Mary tinev
    10/11/2018 / 6:20 pm

    My 4 year old has wished for one for ages! Imagine his surprise waking up on Christmas morning to this! Not only a toy but educational too!

  5. Krissy Preston
    10/11/2018 / 6:22 pm

    My 3yo would love a leapfrog pack for Christmas.

  6. Ali Platts
    10/11/2018 / 6:25 pm

    I would love to try this

  7. Lara Haynes
    10/11/2018 / 6:31 pm

    How good is this to continue my little boys learning to be super ready for when he starts big school (prep) amazing learning experience with this amazing product my son will have a ball learning to be ready

  8. Michelle fay
    10/11/2018 / 6:33 pm

    My grandsons would really benefit from these awesome interactive and fun learning tools because they are so eager to learn and need a challenge

  9. Veronica Christensen
    10/11/2018 / 6:38 pm

    I love the 3D holographic screen it’s fantastic my kid’s would absolutly love to see their favourite characters come to life so much fun and it’s also educational at the same time all in one compact device.

  10. 10/11/2018 / 6:53 pm

    Our Granddaughter would be thrilled to find this under the tree this Christmas!

  11. Brooke love
    10/11/2018 / 6:57 pm

    I love that it can be used for so many age groups so it can progress as my 2 year old learns. Being battery and light it is portable to come with us where ever we go and need it. Having a volume setting is definetely a plus. It would be a great learning tool for my little girl.

  12. Dorothy
    10/11/2018 / 7:11 pm

    My grandchildren would all love to get the benefit of earlier learning. Christmas is around the corner and what better way to receive this wonderful surprise when we celebrate together.

  13. Jean Lim
    10/11/2018 / 7:27 pm

    Love for an interactive way of teaching the kids letters, numbers and phonics with Leap Frog.

  14. Natalie Murnane
    10/11/2018 / 7:31 pm

    My girl clams up when I ask her to read words or sound out letters but she loves her favourite characters. I love they have used the bright fun characters so the kids are smiling as they learn and not thinking mum is schooling them again.

  15. Nicole Williams
    10/11/2018 / 7:37 pm

    My son loves his leap tag. Would love to win one for my nephew too. He’d really enjoy it.

  16. Brooke love
    10/11/2018 / 8:16 pm

    I love that it can be used for so many age groups so can grow with my 2 year old as she learns. Being battery, light weight and having volume settings is great we can could take it with us where ever we go. It’s anazing watching the little ones learn and having things to help them is a great tool.

  17. 10/11/2018 / 8:21 pm

    i love the maths my son struggles a bit and leap tag makes Maths fun

  18. SCOTT BRUNSKILL
    10/11/2018 / 8:27 pm

    I would love this for my youngest grandson…..set to start school after Christmas I feel he will struggle….and this would be a wonderful aid to bring his learning up to speed so his transition will be easier

  19. Belinda Short
    10/11/2018 / 8:37 pm

    I’d love to win one of these for my daughter. I really want to instil in her a love of learning and a passion for reading. I think this would give her a big header art.

  20. Ryan H
    10/11/2018 / 9:18 pm

    Love all the activities and interactive touchpoints, which help kids to learn to identify the cause and effect of events in a story which in turn improves their own ability to tell a story.

  21. Charlotte B
    10/11/2018 / 9:32 pm

    Love that it has real ‘turn the pages’ books so I my child doesn’t become totally immersed in the world of technology and is still able to grasp ‘real’ reading.

  22. Gabriella H
    10/11/2018 / 9:33 pm

    I like that the system comes with a Preschool and Pre-Kindergarten sampler book so you can try out the levels before purchasing the full activity books. This is a great way to avoid paying out for something that is not suitable for your child.

  23. Jordana Hodgetts
    11/11/2018 / 12:19 am

    My toddler is loving pretending to read along with me when we have quiet story time together. He is still only young but starting to recognise letters and words which is amazing! This would be perfect to keep him busy and entertained this summer as we head overseas on our first family holiday. The interactive activities that expand on the story will really help to keep him focused and locked into the task at hand

  24. Kasey Evans
    11/11/2018 / 1:24 am

    I like how the stylus is designed for gross motor skills and could teach my 2 year old how to correctly write and give him an advantage before starting school.

  25. Debbie Moody
    11/11/2018 / 7:20 am

    I can’t think of a better present for my grandson for Christmas he will not only have hours and hours of fun he will be learning so much at the same time getting him ready for school and beyond. I will be the best grandma ever.

  26. Joey
    11/11/2018 / 8:24 am

    This is great for little ones to learn and have fun

    • Karen Hibberd
      30/11/2018 / 10:05 pm

      Yes, looks very educational and interactive

  27. Mele
    11/11/2018 / 8:54 am

    I’d love to win this for my 4 year old she loves learning and we love leapfrog products. She’s been asking me for one of these for Christmas. But with a new baby coming we are limited this year.

  28. 11/11/2018 / 9:36 am

    I want to win this for my minime – aka my niece. She loves gadgets and wants a “puter” just like Aunty Fiona

  29. C mizzi
    11/11/2018 / 10:43 am

    This would be so beneficial for my 2.5 year old son. He would get years of use out of it and would be fantastic for him on long road trips. I would much rather him enjoy this than watching a dvd when we have to travel a few hours to visit family.

  30. Patricia Comer
    11/11/2018 / 1:02 pm

    I couldn’t imagine a better device to assist in making learning more fun. Even better that it turns off automatically after 5 minutes when not in use, thank you…. finally something that will help save my sanity. My son has delayed speech and writing capabilities and he starts school next year at 5.5 years. He is interested in learning and is very smart even though he dose not write well. The speech therapist is confident he’ll be more than fine at preschool next year. I would love to win the leap frog Leap start to help his progress and give him a little more confidence through creative play and interactive learning.

  31. Michelle Budge
    11/11/2018 / 2:55 pm

    I have my very first grandchild to be born in February. It will be a girl. We just can’t wait. We want the best for her. So winning this prize would be so awesome.

  32. Peta Newsome
    11/11/2018 / 7:09 pm

    I love the reading skill fluency skills it will help my little man acquire. Reading it so important and I love how it makes learning to read fun!!

    • Peta Newsome
      11/11/2018 / 7:10 pm

      *is* so important!!! So is checking your work. 😉

  33. Kristy F
    11/11/2018 / 7:44 pm

    My little Frog would LEAP for joy to be able to leapstart his leaning on this fabulous toy.

  34. Maree Gray
    11/11/2018 / 8:28 pm

    I would love to win this for my dear friend who has gorgeous twin boys who are turning 2 in January. This would give them a great start on their journey of fun learning

  35. Tamara Lamb
    12/11/2018 / 11:17 am

    I want to win as I help out at my son’s school with reading and a lot of the students are indigenous and struggle. This would be a fun, new way to get them interested!

  36. L Jarvis
    12/11/2018 / 12:11 pm

    I would love to win this for my little girl! Her words are coming along very quickly now and she surprises me everyday with things she’s learnt. Books and interactive toys seem to hold her attention the most and this looks like it would be very exciting, especially the Disney preschool book. I like that we can change the books too as she grows out of them and needs a bigger challenge.

  37. Linda Pepper
    12/11/2018 / 7:25 pm

    My little ones 4 & 5 would benefit with the Leapfrog Leapstart Interactive Learning. Love the volume button. Helps with my sanity when you can turn a volume down on a toy the kids are playing on. And it even turns itself off after 5 mins saving battery life and me, constantly saying, go and turn your toys off and pulling my hair out looking for the toy that has been dropped where they were last using it. And best of all, while they think they are playing, they are actually learning. Its bright, colourful, interactive with all the kids favourite characters that they can learn and create a journey with. Great that its suitable for not just 1 of my kids but both. Both are at different reading and learning levels but would benefit them both. Tracing and learning numbers and actually holding a pen in correct with technique. Love how i can add additional books as they learn and grow with the Leapstart to further there reading, writing and willness to learn the fun way.

  38. Elizabeth Denholm
    13/11/2018 / 9:01 am

    My two little girls just love to read.
    The Leapfrog Leapstart 3D is just what we need.
    When mummy just needs to to get things done.
    The Leapstart 3D makes reading, writing and learning so much fun.
    Volume control is my favorite feature.
    No need for this mumma to listen to every creature (In the books).
    With three great books for them to enjoy.
    This prize is just more than some toy.
    So thank you All Mum Said for the chance to win.
    Hopefully this poem will make you grin.

  39. Maggie Karner
    13/11/2018 / 10:14 pm

    Learning Exciting Animation Phonics Fluency Reading Organising Graphics.
    LEAPFROG has it all for the adventurous, inquisitive, exploring minds of little ones.

  40. JOHANNE STONE
    14/11/2018 / 4:59 am

    thankyou

  41. claire evans
    14/11/2018 / 2:33 pm

    to encourage learning and play as a whole. lots of fun

  42. Neva
    16/11/2018 / 1:38 pm

    This would be a wonderful tool to continue to enhance a love of reading and learning!

  43. Kirsty P
    18/11/2018 / 6:59 pm

    I love this. I’m not a qualified teacher but as mum’s we teach skills and answer 100’s of questions a day. The LeapStart Learning System is a great way to put a bit of fun into teaching and helps out struggling mum’s teach the most beneficial and well researched ways.

  44. cleo
    20/11/2018 / 1:16 am

    This pack would be a fun way to learn and interact for Oscar, never be bored while giving him needed skills in life.

  45. Mel
    20/11/2018 / 1:59 pm

    Would love this as it would be very educational for my 3 year old!

  46. Rebecca Woodage
    20/11/2018 / 2:03 pm

    I love that this is technology based learning but it doesn’t involve a phone or an iPad

  47. Kate Slack
    20/11/2018 / 3:09 pm

    I love how the characters seem to come to life it makes kids way more interested in reading and enjoying the experience.

  48. Lynnette Bull
    20/11/2018 / 7:12 pm

    I’d love to win so I can be the best Aunty there is, i can’t be there in person then I’ll send the coolest gifts instead. My niece lives so far away that usually the postage costs are more than what I can afford to spend.
    My niece would adore this prize.

  49. Kell
    20/11/2018 / 8:17 pm

    I would love to win this for my Granddaughters … they love to try to read and story time is their favourite time of the night.

  50. Chrissy Roberts
    21/11/2018 / 12:14 am

    It’s bright and light and the children love products that are interesting and that teach them too. That’s why I like it so much.

  51. Maree Wood
    21/11/2018 / 1:54 pm

    I think this would be a perfect gift for my nephew who was born with a mental health disorder..

  52. Karina Lee
    21/11/2018 / 11:55 pm

    My daughter would definitely be motivated to learn using Leapstart, especially since it has Disney characters on it!

  53. jessica ashbrooke
    22/11/2018 / 12:22 pm

    my little man will start preschool in two years and id love for him to have a head start in learning I know leapfrog products are amazing for learning

  54. Ern
    22/11/2018 / 3:42 pm

    We have to do something to get the little guy interested in reading. He shies away from all things to do with books and reading, even being read to. LeapStart 3D looks to be a good way to whet his little appetite.

  55. Diana O
    22/11/2018 / 4:15 pm

    Favourite feature is the Interactive play, that’s educational too.

  56. Diana
    22/11/2018 / 5:11 pm

    Love that it gets children thinking.

  57. Christy van Heerden
    22/11/2018 / 9:23 pm

    My daughter loves to be challenged, to learn, and be able to do it independently, and the LeaspStart would give her everything she wants!

  58. Maggie Karner
    24/11/2018 / 6:53 pm

    What an excellent start to a young child’s life – Leaf Frog.

  59. Shannon discombe
    26/11/2018 / 1:35 am

    So fun and versatile love that it. An grow with the kids as they reach new levels brilliant

  60. Lucy Simonian
    29/11/2018 / 10:10 am

    What an amazing interactive and educational system that will be the perfect learning tool for my 3 year old son. It will definitely encourage learning in a fun and independent way.

  61. christine morris
    29/11/2018 / 10:28 am

    I would love to win for my Granddaughter Jada, she was born with Autism and low muscle tone, she would benefit this From Leapfrog heaps. She is trying to talk , however not much is happening, Merry Christmas and thanks for the chance 🙂

  62. Amelia
    30/11/2018 / 8:27 pm

    My daughter hates sitting with me practising her letters, knowing that there is fun stuff to do elsewhere, and we both get frustrated. This set looks perfect for removing the need for me to be at her shoulder, while still teaching her everything I want her to know. It even looks fun enough that I might just ask for a turn!

  63. Kathryn Horne
    30/11/2018 / 8:42 pm

    Would love to win for my daughter as this is an area she struggles in some areas

  64. Liz Burke
    30/11/2018 / 8:51 pm

    My granddaughter would love this.

  65. tracy wedding
    30/11/2018 / 9:11 pm

    The 3D holographic screen would be totally amazing my 3 grand kids would be so happy

  66. Jayne
    30/11/2018 / 9:25 pm

    I would love to give this to my baby girl from Santa after cancer and a DV relationship this year has been rough to say the least and 3 kids I would love to spoil at Christmas. Good luck everyone !

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.