Home » Giveaways » May Gibbs Collectables – Australian Memorabilia Reviews + Giveaway

May Gibbs Collectables – Australian Memorabilia Reviews + Giveaway

For many, the name May Gibbs instantly warms the heart. Memories of childhood stories, Gumnut Babies and special moments come flooding back.

Now intriguing the next generation of children, May Gibbs has made her mark on Australia once again. Only this time, with more than just incredible stories. May Gibbs collectables and Australian memorabilia will be treasured by kids and adults.

May Gibbs collectibles Australian memorabilia

May Gibbs by Ecology Blossom Children’s Chef Set – RRP $39.95

Pretend play is such an important part of childhood and what better way to get into character than with an adorable May Gibbs Children’s Chef Set. Available in Blossom and Wattle prints, your child will have the cutest little chef outfit around.

May Gibbs collectibles kids chef set child

The sets are 100% cotton and include an apron, chef’s hat and oven glove. What more does you little one need to spark their love of cooking?

May Gibbs collectibles kids chef setMay Gibbs collectibles kids chef set gift box | Australian memorabilia

What we love:

  • I am impressed by the quality of these items. The fabric is thick and the stitching is strong.
  • The colours are vibrant.
  • Each piece features May Gibbs original illustrations. We have the Blossom and it is the absolute cutest.
  • It also comes in a little gift box which makes them a great choice for toddler and preschool gifts.

What we don’t love:

Nothing stands out as a negative.

May Gibbs kids chef set pretend toddler kitchen


You might also like: BRIO Red Stove Review


May Gibbs by Ecology Tea Cup & Saucer – $21.95

It doesn’t get much more nostalgic than having a cup of tea with grandma out of a May Gibbs Snugglepot and Cuddlepie tea cup while snacking on an ANZAC biscuit and reading one of the Gumnut Babies books.

May Gibbs collectibles Ecology tea cup and saucer

Celebrating 100 years, this uniquely Australian wattle tea cup is an impressive 430ml and features the iconic little gumnut baby bottoms. It instantly brought a smile to my face when I saw the adorable little characters holding hands and pointing at the wattle above them.

What we love:

  • It’s a generous size which makes it perfect for keeping warm in winter.
  • The thickness of the tea cup is great. I don’t like it when the bone china is thin and burns my lips.
  • Microwave and dishwasher safe.
  • Comes in a beautiful gift box that holds the tea cup and saucer securely.

What we don’t love:

Nothing stands out as a negative.

May Gibbs tales from around the camp fire book

These nostalgic May Gibbs collectables tug on the heartstrings as you are transported back to your own childhood and reminisce on those incredible stories. I love that we are able to share this Australian Memorabilia with our own children and welcome the Gumnut Babies into our homes again.

You can find more gift ideas from the May Gibbs website.



All Mum Said - Win Australian giveaways and free competitions

Prize includes: 1x May Gibbs by Ecology Children’s Chef Set (RRP $39.95) and 1x May Gibbs by Ecology Tea Cup & Saucer (RRP $21.95). Total prize pool: RRP $61.90.

May Gibbs Collectibles prizea Rafflecopter giveaway

Terms & Conditions: 
1. Australian residents only.
2. Judges decisions are final.
3. The Promoter will do its best to contact the winner/s. If a winner does not accept their prize within 72 hours of being chosen, the Promoter will select the next best Eligible Entry/Entries.
4. This is a game of skill. Chance plays no part!
Therefore no extra points are given for sharing however it is good karma!!
5. All Mum Said is not responsible for delivery of prize.
6. If a prize is unavailable, you will receive another product of equal value.
7. Prizes are not transferable and not redeemable for cash.
8. All entries will be signed up to the All Mum Said and May Gibbs newsletter list. If you do not wish to sign up for our newsletter please advise us via email.
NOT endorsed by or have anything to do with Facebook.


If you want to enter more giveaways click here.


Get Social

All Mum Said

Connecting mums with real support, articles, giveaways, helpful advice & parenting tips.
All Mum Said
Get Social
SHARE THIS ARTICLE
AMS was gifted the above May Gibbs collectables for the purpose of this review. All opinions are our own.

43 Comments

  1. Caroline Spencer
    19/01/2019 / 4:46 pm

    As the mum of ID twin girls May Gibbs Gumnut twin was a favorite of mine. I called them my Gumnut twins before they were born and while they were small.

  2. Karen Mckay
    19/01/2019 / 8:48 pm

    I have fond memories snuggled up to my Grandma,
    As she read tales of the Gumnut Babies,
    I was whisked away with magic,
    Imagining myself with them in eucalypt trees,
    I clung tightly to my Grandma’s side,
    During encounters with the Big Bad Banksia Men,
    And positively felt like dancing,
    When Snugglepot and Cuddlepie were safe again!

  3. Tessa
    21/01/2019 / 2:59 pm

    Have always loved the gumnut babies!

  4. Kellie warren
    21/01/2019 / 3:15 pm

    I’ve just passed my books down to my daughter and she loves them! Would love to add to her collection with something that is just hers

  5. Natalie Murnane
    21/01/2019 / 3:26 pm

    I have memories of art at school. In primary we read the story and used to collect gumnuts and paint them and make scenes of clay people with gumnut hats and gumnut cooking pots. So much fun.

  6. Rachel Kirstenfeldt
    21/01/2019 / 3:41 pm

    Yes Please! My 2 little babes would love this! My 8yo loves to help Mum in the kitchen.
    Such Beautiful Memories

  7. Belinda J Burns
    21/01/2019 / 3:50 pm

    My mum was snugglepot & cuddlepie obsessed, every year she would dress us up for book week in a may Gibbs inspired costume!

  8. Emma
    21/01/2019 / 4:14 pm

    As a child I remember my mum being so excited when she introduced me to May Gibbs stories and in particular the gumnut babies. Her excitement made me feel like there was something perfectly magical about them and I can’t wait to share the stories with my own small children so they can experience that wonder and magic too 😍

  9. Amy Macdonald
    21/01/2019 / 4:54 pm

    Growing up on a acherage property we used to do lots of May Gibbs inspired art with gum nuts from our backyard. These are beautiful packs 🥰🌿👶

  10. Bee Bowdlert
    21/01/2019 / 5:16 pm

    I love making May Gibbs art and craft with my kids just as I used to do with my Mum and Nan. As we wander through the bushland on my family farm collecting gumnuts, leaves, seedpods and flowers, I tell the kids gumnut stories from my childhood. Every Aussie kid should experience the May Gibbs magic.

  11. 21/01/2019 / 6:01 pm

    My favourite memory is back when I was six, in year one. I loved the Gumnut Babies then and because I loved them so much, my mum made me an Easter bonnet covered with gum leaves and gum nuts. It’s one of the few things I can remember of when I was that young and I cannot wait to do the same with my daughter. Although my daughter is mad for Peppa Pig books at the moment I hope that this changes so we can enjoy May Gibbs and the Gumnut Babies together. There’s only so much one can take of Peppa Pig!

  12. 21/01/2019 / 6:46 pm

    I adore May Gibbs. Would be delightful to drink a lovely cuppa out of the teacup.

  13. Maree Gray
    21/01/2019 / 7:10 pm

    I loved the gumnut babies when I was little and used to collect gum nuts and leaves when we went walking in the parkland near home to use in craft projects on rainy days.

  14. Rebecca Tompsett
    21/01/2019 / 8:01 pm

    I loved to read all about the Gumnut Babies with my Nanna and Pop – I think that they inspired my love of reading that led to me becoming a librarian as an adult.

  15. Kate Slack
    21/01/2019 / 11:15 pm

    These are so cute 😊

  16. Kerry Hite
    22/01/2019 / 12:47 am

    Visiting the school library and taking the Gumnut Babies straight home to read.

  17. Lisa Abejja
    22/01/2019 / 2:51 am

    I do not have many happy childhood memories but one that I do have is snuggled up with my grandmother reading May Gibbs gumnut babies book. My grandmother was my safe place, and this book takes me right back to her lap, her perfume and that feeling of safety and security.

  18. Bernarda Robinson
    22/01/2019 / 7:16 am

    Gorgeous products! My little girl loves May Gibbs, she’s an Australian treasure, I’d love to see her helping in the kitchen in that chef’s hat!

  19. Bernarda Robinson
    22/01/2019 / 7:18 am

    May Gibbs is an Australian treasure, I’d love to see my little girl helping in the kitchen in that chef’s hat!

  20. Jeanie
    22/01/2019 / 8:30 am

    My girls saved all their birthday and pocket money to purchase their May Gibbs Snuggle Pot and Cuddle Pie dolls. I was so proud of their saving efforts and they were so proud to be loving gumnut baby mummy’s.

  21. Kara Bussell
    22/01/2019 / 9:48 am

    Would love to win this amazing giveaway, would love to share these memories with my children ☺️

  22. Michelle fay
    22/01/2019 / 12:19 pm

    These are the prettiest and most wonderful tea sets I’ve seen and would absolutely adore, so many wonderful memories of her books and illustrations flooding through my mind it’s lovely to behold

  23. Sarahmary
    22/01/2019 / 12:49 pm

    I’m a huge fan of collecting memrobilia from my childhood to pass down on to my own children. This pack would be an amazing win, I’m especially in LOVE with the Australian wattle tea cup. The size alone is fantastic but the design makes it what it is.

  24. Samara McRae
    22/01/2019 / 2:00 pm

    My mum used to read me Snugglepot and Cuddlepie every night before bed. I loved them and the exciting adventures they had. Such good memories. I have started reading them to my kids so they have the same wonderful memories.

  25. 22/01/2019 / 7:42 pm

    I read May Gibbs to my three daughters. Whilst they all loved them my eldest became obsessed by them. Today as an adult I am sure she still remembers some of it word by word.

  26. Dianne Procopio
    23/01/2019 / 3:34 am

    May Gibbs is one of the most talented children’s authors. Her books have enthralled children and adults alike for almost a century. From gum nuts she flowered.

  27. Danielle Tassan
    23/01/2019 / 2:16 pm

    My mother read May Gibbs books to me as a child and my kids now share that same lovecfor her books.

  28. L Jarvis
    23/01/2019 / 6:08 pm

    I did’nt grow up in Australian and am not familiar with the author but I will certainly look for her stories now for my little girl who is growing up year and will have many wonderful memories cooking with me in the kitchen.

  29. Lesley Olariu
    25/01/2019 / 7:20 am

    My little granddaughter would love these Australian treasures!

  30. Anna
    27/01/2019 / 2:41 pm

    When I started school, I couldn’t speak a word of English. My teacher, the most beautiful person in the world would sit with me at lunch times and read Snugglepot and cuddlepie to me! She gave me the fondest memories of May Gibbs but also reminds me of the kindness of others!

  31. Lauren Betterman
    28/01/2019 / 2:15 pm

    I love May Gibbs. A great Australian icon, my most favorite illustrator. Remember growing up with the gum nut babies stories. So cute!

  32. Tahnee
    01/02/2019 / 1:07 pm

    My grandparents had a collection of May Gibbs that they would read to us when my sister and I would visit. I’d love to be able to introduce my kids to the gum nut babies as well.

  33. ROSE POWELL
    02/02/2019 / 4:07 pm

    My fond memory is my mum covering my school books with Gumnut Babies felt like the luckiest little girl then

  34. Sharon Johnson
    02/02/2019 / 4:19 pm

    Holidays spent out bush had my imagination run wild as a child. I relished in the May Gibbs stories finding myself climbing trees with imaginary gum nuts helmets thinking I was invincible. 😂 Living large makes me laugh looking back on it.

  35. Peta Newsome
    02/02/2019 / 4:24 pm

    My Nana used to work in a gift shop and bought me a beautiful little Snuggle Pot and Cuddle Pie figure. They were so sweet . I loved playing with them as a child.

  36. Mick Gillies
    02/02/2019 / 6:06 pm

    Oh my what a beautiful set to bring May Gibbs, Snuggle Pot and Cuddle Pie to life for little Natasha

  37. Jess
    02/02/2019 / 8:51 pm

    Reading the books as a kid and playing gummnut babies with actual gumnuts in the playground as mini person!!! Such an Aussie classic. I always buy a may Gibbs book as a baby shower present!

  38. Rachel Mackay
    02/02/2019 / 9:19 pm

    I have such wonderful memories of enjoying May Gibbs’ tales as a child. I loved her stories so much I did a project on her in primary school and I can remember decorating the poster with a border of blossoming flowers. I was so proud of it. I think I enjoy the stories just as much reading them to my daughter now! She loves all the adventures Snugglepot and Cuddlepie find themselves having. I would love to share this prize with her as I know she would treasure it immensely.

  39. Shannon
    02/02/2019 / 9:25 pm

    I loved this my mum got me an address book with snugglepot and cuddlepie on when I was young to put all friends phone numbers in I loved it it’s still round somewhere too before lots of numbers were added to the phone numbers too

  40. Kimba Morgan
    02/02/2019 / 9:39 pm

    I loved hearing about (Snugglepot & Cuddlepies) Australian adventures, but it’s the amazing illustrations that really stand out, in my mind, an incredible introduction to all our native animals & flora

  41. Rachel Mackay
    02/02/2019 / 9:43 pm

    I absolutely adored May Gibbs’ tales as a child, so much so I chose to complete a project on her in primary school. I remember decorating the border of my poster with blossoming flowers. I was extremely proud of it!
    I enjoy reading the stories just as much now to my daughter who loves hearing the adventures of Snugglepot and Cuddlepie. I would love to win as I know she would treasure these gorgeous products immensely.

  42. Jordana Hodgetts
    02/02/2019 / 10:23 pm

    I didn’t grow up in Australia, I moved here from Nz 4y ago. My first experience with snugglepot and cuddlepie was when I was pregnant with my eldest bub. We had our first scan at 8w – I thought bub was so cute and looked like a cashew nut but hubby said “awww look he’s a little gumnut baby just like snugglepot and cuddlepie”! I had no idea what he was talking about so whilst I was still laying on the bed with the icky jelly on my belly, and out bubba on the screen, he showed me snugglepot and cuddlepie. I have felt a close affinity to May Gibbs world ever since then

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.